PDA

View Full Version : custom box was told it was 2.25 cu ft but calculator says 4.66? wtf



assassin1840
11-15-2011, 10:20 PM
so im looking at getting this sub and they say it was built to specs after displacement. box is 24length by 24wide by 14 height. that comes out to 4.6cu ft . my box for my w3v3s were 3.5 and that was bigger it seems. its ported so i know its less than that but doesn't seem like it would be that big. i put other dimensions in that calculator and it doesn't give the same measurements the company says it is. what would you say the cu ft that box is or do i need to see what the inside of the box looks like with the port. is that car audio dimensions calculator wrong or what?? any help would be great id like to pick this up asap

kushy_dreams
11-15-2011, 10:31 PM
You are multiplying the outside dimensions to get 4.66 cu/ft.

You need to subtract the thickness of the wood which gives 3.66cu/ft before displacements, then you subtract the displacement of the port and the sub and any bracing inside. Subtract all that and you will be closer to 2.25cu/ft

Flastrongman
11-15-2011, 10:32 PM
24 x 24 x 14=3.66 internal.

OmegaBunny
11-15-2011, 10:32 PM
Its 3.6 before port and displacement. 24x24x14 is the external measurements right? The internal measurements would be 22.5x22.5x12.5. 6328.125/1728 = 3.66ft^3

duanebro
11-16-2011, 01:13 AM
what sub?

matt_bennett05
11-16-2011, 01:28 AM
You are multiplying the outside dimensions to get 4.66 cu/ft.

You need to subtract the thickness of the wood which gives 3.66cu/ft before displacements, then you subtract the displacement of the port and the sub and any bracing inside. Subtract all that and you will be closer to 2.25cu/ft

Ik-Zacharee! :D

CAT MAN
11-16-2011, 02:17 AM
port displacement bro,.

infamous_e46
11-16-2011, 02:48 AM
yeah thats about the same size as my ram designs box and its 2.6 2.8 cf i forgot

assassin1840
11-16-2011, 05:42 AM
yeah after i posted this i found another website were i could add everything angle up and i got the 3.6 but then i didnt know how big the port was and didnt know if the port would put it down to 2.25 or so its a diamond audio d9 12 dude gots it needs money asap im trying to get it for a hundo. they say there comparable to the w7 which i want. sold mine a couple months ago my 13 and i regret it now. he doesnt live to far away just the next town over. worth a shot to listen to it see if i like it

duanebro
11-16-2011, 08:09 AM
No love for the sundown 10"s?

assassin1840
11-16-2011, 04:53 PM
no not for me . well there alright but the dont get down low like i want a system to do. that 13 w7 hit deep and before that i had 15s so i should have known that 10s wouldnt please me.

kushy_dreams
11-16-2011, 04:58 PM
no not for me . well there alright but the dont get down low like i want a system to do. that 13 w7 hit deep and before that i had 15s so i should have known that 10s wouldnt please me.

Its all in the box, you can make 8s hit low notes like 15s, its just all in the box design. Its the most important factor when putting together a sound system along with the aiming everything.

ahole-ic
11-16-2011, 04:59 PM
no not for me . well there alright but the dont get down low like i want a system to do. that 13 w7 hit deep and before that i had 15s so i should have known that 10s wouldnt please me. Yeah cuz everyone knows 10's can't get low ;) rofl

ChevyRidinLow
11-16-2011, 05:08 PM
so im looking at getting this sub and they say it was built to specs after displacement. box is 24length by 24wide by 14 height. that comes out to 4.6cu ft . my box for my w3v3s were 3.5 and that was bigger it seems. its ported so i know its less than that but doesn't seem like it would be that big. i put other dimensions in that calculator and it doesn't give the same measurements the company says it is. what would you say the cu ft that box is or do i need to see what the inside of the box looks like with the port. is that car audio dimensions calculator wrong or what?? any help would be great id like to pick this up asap

wow. how you gonna not know basic ish? and whats the sub

ChevyRidinLow
11-16-2011, 05:10 PM
no not for me . well there alright but the dont get down low like i want a system to do. that 13 w7 hit deep and before that i had 15s so i should have known that 10s wouldnt please me.

for real kid? dont go post dump on my classifieds thread and call me dumb then go and say a ton of dumb things in your own.

disturbed471985
11-16-2011, 05:11 PM
Its all in the box, you can make 8s hit low notes like 15s, its just all in the box design. Its the most important factor when putting together a sound system along with the aiming everything.

^^ This.. 8's can get nasty low its all in the box..

813thumper
11-16-2011, 05:35 PM
omg.. theres a difference in playing low and playing low well and with authority. a couple of 8s arent going to make you happy if what you had before was a multiple 15 setup.