PDA

View Full Version : Need help getting started.

Audion00b
10-31-2011, 06:05 PM
Hi! I'm pretty much brand-new to your forums, and I have alot of questions that I am not seeming to find elsewhere.

Basically: I have already decided to go with a ported/vented sub box. I personally have an enclosed in my car, but this is for a family members who wants it for other reasons. I want to build the enclosure specifically for the subwoofer driver I will be using.

The sub drivers are the power-acoustik p3-12w (only one driver) On the PA page you can pull up the driver specs. I will be driving it withing the rated rms/peak with a mono sub amp, and I have done all of the wiring as professional as it can get. I don't want to cut ANY corners!

I'm a pretty smart cookie, and I enjoy doing everything myself, but being that I am brand new to building enclosures, things can get overwhelming even though it is/may seem simple.

The car I will be installing it into is a 2002/3 toyota avalon (in the trunk) and the trunk looks like this. h t t p : / / g o o . g l / s U x o J (minus the onslaught of spaces lol)

With the measurements of (35 inches length, 13 inches height clearance, and a depth of 1 foot+) the depth can be lengthed, but Being that I am aiming for a rectangle box, depth is already a little big.

I am just kind of confused with how to calculate the proper box enclosure size, and how to port it properly. I already know how to build them properly, I just need to know what I'm building lol.

>>SQL<<
10-31-2011, 06:13 PM
Well we have a few guys onb this forum that design boxes.

You give them the sub you are using and the measurements of your space and they design a box that you can build.

Search for Ram-Designs, Buck, or Mobile Enclosures.

Any one of them should be able to take care of you.

Audion00b
10-31-2011, 06:21 PM
Awesome. Do they charge for their time or is it more of a hobby-based thing.

I'd love for a professional hobbyist to have a look over this :)