PDA

View Full Version : Aero Port sizes for a Treo SSX 15



dye4metal
10-13-2011, 01:16 PM
I am building a box that has around 3.3 cubes for on top of my back seat in my truck and going in it is a treo ssx 15, i will have about 1500-1700 RMS going to it so my question is whether i should go with 1 or 2 4" aero ports? and how big, i want the tuning to be about 34hz

morespl
10-13-2011, 01:27 PM
Do a 8 inch aero port It would be perfect for your box that gives just about 16 sq/in per cube

dye4metal
10-13-2011, 07:37 PM
well i was really leaning towards two 4" or one 6". im not sure where to buy the 8"?

dye4metal
10-14-2011, 11:55 PM
according to the port calculator on the aeroport site it says 1 4" port at 7.5" long. seems wrong to me

RAM_Designs
10-15-2011, 03:39 AM
according to the port calculator on the aeroport site it says 1 4" port at 7.5" long. seems wrong to me

That's right. The bigger the port is, the longer it's going to need to be. I'd do a single 6" aero as the bare minimum. Using an 8" aero is going to require a good bit of length. It'd be easier to do a slot port that you can easily bend inside the box.

dye4metal
10-15-2011, 01:14 PM
if i were to use a 6" aeroport how long would i need it to be for 34hz?

DukeNut
10-15-2011, 10:51 PM
16.6" if using flared ends, if not then 15.6"

dye4metal
10-16-2011, 05:26 PM
Well I have one 4" aeroport laying around so that would be fine at 7" correct?

kushy_dreams
10-16-2011, 11:37 PM
Well I have one 4" aeroport laying around so that would be fine at 7" correct?

No. You should do a minimum of 2 4in aeros or 1 6in. A single 4in will give you terrible port noise.

dye4metal
10-17-2011, 01:28 AM
If i were to do a 6" port on my box i would need to invert the sub. Is that alright given the port flare might be too close even at 6" away from the woofer ?

kushy_dreams
10-17-2011, 01:39 AM
Why would you need to invert the sub? It wont make a difference although. I don't know about about sub/port placement on a box, but I would think its best to have the sub and port as far away from each other as possible. If you have the sub and port close, the sub could unload. Have you considered running the port externally?

morespl
10-17-2011, 02:18 AM
You would need a minimum of 4 4s and you would still be undersized for port one six would not be enough. according to treo you want between 15-16 inches per cube running a smaller port would give less performance for the sub. I'm running 2 treo ssx 12s in 5 cubes after displacement with a 10" inch areo hits hard and sound great.

RAM_Designs
10-17-2011, 02:44 AM
You would need a minimum of 4 4s and you would still be undersized for port one six would not be enough. according to treo you want between 15-16 inches per cube running a smaller port would give less performance for the sub. I'm running 2 treo ssx 12s in 5 cubes after displacement with a 10" inch areo hits hard and sound great.

With aeroports you don't need nearly as much port area as a slot port in order to avoid port noise. Also, with four 4" aeros, explain to me how he's going to fit ~36" long ports in there?