PDA

View Full Version : Crossover Question.



Crownvicon28s
09-30-2011, 10:52 PM
Ok. What I have decided to do is go with a 6.5'' sub and a 4'' midbass in each front door and run my rear fill off of the two rear channels of my amp. Each speaker is 4 ohms, thus each of the 2 front channels will see 2 ohms. If I was to use a 3 way crossover for the sub and midbass, would it change the impedence the amp sees? 4ch amp btw.

mylows10
09-30-2011, 10:55 PM
you will need a 6 channel amp to do that ,the crossover is installed before the amps.unless you are using a passive crossover,in that case no

Crownvicon28s
09-30-2011, 11:00 PM
Yeah. I was meaning a passive crossover. Should have said that. So a passive crossover wouldn't change the impedence the amp sees? Do I need to use one?

mylows10
09-30-2011, 11:16 PM
as long as its a 3 way passive you should be ok.but if you went active ,it would prolly be louder and sound cleaner,and be a little more adjustable

Crownvicon28s
09-30-2011, 11:18 PM
Yeah its a 3 way passive. I may go active later. After I get everything and get it installed. Seems like its alot to going active. Idk if im ready. lol. I may say forget it and try it anyway. We will see.

VWBobby
10-04-2011, 03:48 AM
I have a semi-active setup, you might try it. I run my 8" mid-bass speakers from 80hz down. I run 6.5 and tweeter on a passive crossover on the "rear" channels of the amp full-pass.

cablguy184
10-16-2011, 09:13 PM
any outcome on this ??? did everything work out ok ??

keep_hope_alive
10-18-2011, 11:39 PM
Nothing has been said about the impedance your amp sees. When using a passive crossover, the amp doesn't see the speakers in parallel, it only sees one speaker at a time (plus the impedance the crossover adds).

Are you building the crossover yourself? What are the crossover points?