PDA

View Full Version : Single 18 and aeros...



plugitin
09-20-2011, 03:52 PM
Well fellas, think im being forced into using aero ports. Box will be 5.5-6 cubes with a single DC Lvl 5. Just dont have the room to make a proper slot port.

This is my first time using aeros, so, any help would be great. Would like to be somewhere around 32ish HZ.

This will be going in an extended cab truck, so plan is sub forward, and the two aeros pointed up. Will 2 6" aeros be enough?

Nut Hair Trick
09-20-2011, 04:11 PM
I'm in the same situation as well because I'm considering going with a single 15 in my trunk. I haven't ever seen anything concrete on how to figure in tuning for aeros and I would love for someone to step in and explain.

plugitin
09-20-2011, 04:28 PM
yeah, i would like for around 100 square inches of port in a slot port. And two 6 inch aeros is about 58 square inches. So, im just not sure...lol

T.I.K.
09-20-2011, 04:33 PM
plugitin, i used these two aero's to port my AQ HDC3 18

the rule of thumb i follow is 6-10sqin / cuft, but that's all depending on the box, and the sub, and other stuff that's probably over my head.
So using pi(r)^2
substituting the radius pi(3)^2 ~ 28.25 <- area of 6"port in sqin

if your box is 6cuft, that means you want anywhere from 36-60sqin of port, you have two of these aero's, so 28.25 x 2 = 56.5
The lvl5 is a fairly high excursion driver, and you're putting it in a fairly small enclosure for an 18", so you should be fine with two aeros of this size.


p.s. i managed to take a part the areo's and put them back in their original packaging, so, i should be shipping out sometime around 4:00 today

bgowdy31
09-20-2011, 05:05 PM
plugitin, i used these two aero's to port my AQ HDC3 18

the rule of thumb i follow is 6-10sqin / cuft, but that's all depending on the box, and the sub, and other stuff that's probably over my head.
So using pi(r)^2
substituting the radius pi(3)^2 ~ 28.25 <- area of 6"port in sqin

if your box is 6cuft, that means you want anywhere from 36-60sqin of port, you have two of these aero's, so 28.25 x 2 = 56.5
The lvl5 is a fairly high excursion driver, and you're putting it in a fairly small enclosure for an 18", so you should be fine with two aeros of this size.


p.s. i managed to take a part the areo's and put them back in their original packaging, so, i should be shipping out sometime around 4:00 today



since you have the EXP with aeros i was wonderin how would does 5.5cubes with one 8" port workout?

bgowdy31
09-20-2011, 05:08 PM
how that work out? (typo from above)

plugitin
09-21-2011, 03:49 AM
hmm

T.I.K.
09-21-2011, 03:53 AM
since you have the EXP with aeros i was wonderin how would does 5.5cubes with one 8" port workout?

That's what I was gonna do to start with, but then I realized i had to actually make the 8", and it was more port area to start with

plugitin
09-21-2011, 01:46 PM
well, ill let ya all know how it works, lol

-01limited-
09-21-2011, 02:31 PM
I'm running 4 4" aero's in a 8 cube before displac. Tuned at around 34 hz or so.

CRXBMPN
09-21-2011, 02:32 PM
I'm running 4 4" aero's in a 8 cube before displac. Tuned at around 34 hz or so.

those must be short ports...

-01limited-
09-21-2011, 02:34 PM
I think they're around 15" each. I'm not for sure though. I'd have to work out the tuning to see.

hispls
09-21-2011, 02:38 PM
I use 8" round port for a single 12. Good luck with that on a LV5 18"

plugitin
09-21-2011, 02:40 PM
I use 8" round port for a single 12. Good luck with that on a LV5 18"

is it an aero, or just a pvc pipe?

CRXBMPN
09-21-2011, 03:12 PM
if it's as I recall, it was just pipe. been a month or two, and my memory isnt as great as it used to be ;)

plugitin
09-21-2011, 03:16 PM
if it's as I recall, it was just pipe. been a month or two, and my memory isnt as great as it used to be ;)

lol, well...im hoping that since these are aeros it will help. Only one way to find out though i guess. Im saddened though because ill have to wait to get back from Texas to finish it most likely :(

joshy629
09-21-2011, 03:20 PM
you should look into some 8" aeros i have tested 2 6 aeros vrs a single 8 aero and the 8 has won everytime i can link you to the forum were he sells them for cheap

plugitin
09-21-2011, 03:21 PM
you should look into some 8" aeros i have tested 2 6 aeros vrs a single 8 aero and the 8 has won everytime i can link you to the forum were he sells them for cheap

sure, lemme see em!

grimreper912003
09-21-2011, 03:21 PM
since you have the EXP with aeros i was wonderin how would does 5.5cubes with one 8" port workout?

5.34 @ 32hz with a single 8" aero. A lot smaller of a 18" though
18" JBL GTi 1800 - YouTube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x3Or07rqzcY)

plugitin
09-21-2011, 03:24 PM
only thing is, is that an 8 inch flare is 50 sq inches, where as 2 6 inch is 58 sq inches

joshy629
09-21-2011, 03:25 PM
well off of fusing in a 7 cube box with a single 18 and a 8" aero sub up port back so this was in a street box, i did a 149.6 and this was off music and no bracing. 5.5 cubes is a bit small if you are looking for musical with an 8" aero i would go around 6.5 if you want some daily bang.

here is the llink

http://www.caraudio.com/forums/miscellaneous-car-audio-classifieds/522142-8-flared-ports-sale.html

joshy629
09-21-2011, 03:27 PM
and yes two 6 inch aeros is a little more port than the single 8. but its one of those things you just gotta try to know which one works best ya know?

plugitin
09-21-2011, 03:29 PM
and yes two 6 inch aeros is a little more port than the single 8. but its one of those things you just gotta try to know which one works best ya know?

yeah, im not gona lie, it would look sexay with an 8 inch port...

k_schutte
09-21-2011, 03:30 PM
my fully loaded BTL18 was in 7.25ft^3 net with 85^2"ish port area @ 34hz using 3 - 6" aeros, something like 18" long I believe they are... Best I ever got out of that setup was 152ish in my Durango running on a DD Z1 @ 1ohm...

plugitin
09-21-2011, 03:33 PM
well, as it sits right now, im think im going to try the 2 6 inch aeros in a 5.5 cube box. We shall see what she does, the sweet spot for this sub is 5-5.5 cubes my sources say. Im also going to look into making a 8 inch flare myself and building another box to try that out with

joshy629
09-21-2011, 03:36 PM
yeah i had two 6's but the 8 worked out better for me. i had it in a flat wall also but never got to get it on a meter but it was pretty loud. i would recomend them. i live 5 min from the guy who makes those 8" aeros so i can tell you he is a good guy and will do you good. i have two of his ports and i lovem

---------- Post added at 12:36 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:35 PM ----------

well good luck to you then. dc audio is the best sub to have!!! i got a dc xl 18 and love it

plugitin
09-21-2011, 03:36 PM
yeah, i just need to find or build a mold to make them. I wanted to ask him what he used as a mold, but i doubt hed tell me, lol.

joshy629
09-21-2011, 03:41 PM
gotta make it and it takes alot of time to get right thats all im gunna say lol

lowriderram_95
09-21-2011, 04:08 PM
2 6's worked well for my nightshade

RAM_Designs
09-22-2011, 08:19 AM
2 6"ers at bare minimum, or a single 8" one.