PDA

View Full Version : How do I hook up 3 head units in my car?



Sabbath2112
09-18-2011, 09:11 AM
This may sound crazy but I would like to hook up a new CD player, a vintage Cassette player, and a vintage 8-Track player into my car. I think I can run the cassette into the Aux In on the CD player, but the Cassette has no Aux In for the 8-Track to plug into. Is there some kind of box I can get that will enable me to switch between the 3 head units? Will probably add a vintage EQ into the system as well...

Sabbath2112
09-18-2011, 10:00 AM
24 Veiws / 0 Replies - Maybe I am crazy but this will be So Sweet if I can figure it out, with some help hopefully...

subzero
09-18-2011, 10:13 AM
first you need 2 LOC. Then you need probably 2 Audiocontrol Eq's like the Four1.

Sabbath2112
09-18-2011, 11:03 AM
What is a LOC?

subzero
09-18-2011, 11:04 AM
Line voltage converter LOC - Google Search (http://www.google.com/search?q=Line+voltage+converter++LOC&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a#sclient=psy-ab&hl=en&safe=off&client=firefox-a&hs=LuJ&rls=org.mozilla:en-US%3Aofficial&tbm=shop&source=hp&q=Line+output+converter++LOC&pbx=1&oq=Line+output+converter++LOC&aq=f&aqi=&aql=&gs_sm=e&gs_upl=12489l13430l1l14567l6l6l0l0l0l5l433l1848l3-4.1l5l0&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.&fp=72e9cf91affd38dc&biw=1664&bih=821)



this might work better http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio/p_25231_AudioControl_LC7.aspx?utm_source=google_sh opping&utm_medium=Product_Feed&utm_campaign=google_shopping_Price_Comparison

silvercookie
09-18-2011, 11:05 AM
Line out converter.

wenn_du_weinst
09-18-2011, 11:06 AM
why?

Sabbath2112
09-18-2011, 11:06 AM
Thank You Very Much! I'm on my way...

subzero
09-18-2011, 11:15 AM
dude, your gonna drop at least 500 if you get those audiocontrols new. wait around and see if somebody know a better selector switch. because that what you need.

Your going to have to get two LOC for the old decks, and then run those rcas to a selector box, then into your deck auxillary port. The Four1 has a main in and auxillary in. and it has front and rear out. I suppose you could just use one Four1, and the front out would go to your decks auxillary input. DO it that way, or find a cheaper selector thingy.

wenn_du_weinst
09-18-2011, 11:19 AM
or get a head unit that can control an mp3 player and not have to worry about the dirtyness of 8track and tape

keep_hope_alive
09-18-2011, 11:34 AM
if you go with an Alpine HU (CDA-xxxx) of any vintage you can find/add a KCA-410C which gives you two aux inputs (and two changer inputs). then the LOC's you use will simply wire into the aux input.

a cheaper route is to use a head unit that has two AUX inputs. An Alpine CDE-123 has a front 3.5mm AUX and with the KCE-237B you gain a rear AUX input.

CDA/KCA use the Ai-Net bus
CDE/KCE use their E-bus

Sabbath2112
09-18-2011, 11:42 AM
Yeah I could just use mp3 but I'm 48 and the old systems bring back great memories. Pioneer made some really cool brushed aluminum vintage decks. The more lights the better! These are going to look really cool in my '79 Trans Am...

Sabbath2112
09-18-2011, 12:04 PM
Found a stereo audio selector swich online Radio Design Labs EZ Series Stereo Audio Input Switch w/ RCA,3.5mm, & 1/4 headphone output | EZ-HSX4 (EZHSX4) | Radio Design Labs (http://www.mcmelectronics.com/product/555-0670&CAWELAID=405034178) I think this along with some LOC's should should do the trick. Thanks everyone for all your help, this is a really great web site ! ! !

vaiboy
09-18-2011, 12:08 PM
If the cassette player already has RCA outputs then all you need is something like the AudioControl LC7, it's a LOC with an aux input. Just wire the 8-track to the high level inputs, connect the cassette player to the aux in, then connect the LC7 to the aux in on the CD player.

TheUnderFighter
09-18-2011, 12:49 PM
or get a head unit that can control an mp3 player and not have to worry about the dirtyness of 8track and tape

oh NO WAY?! Wow, he probably never thought of that...

kyle3194
09-21-2011, 10:16 AM
Well here's another spin on it. They make rca switch boxes, that you can buy that allow you to hook up multiple av components into one central box then out. They are pretty cheap, but the only thing i would be questionable about is the looks of this inside a car.

Walmart.com: RCA 4-Way AV Switcher With S-Video: TV & Video (http://www.walmart.com/ip/RCA-4-Way-AV-Switcher-With-S-Video/3312963)

Just a quick browse and thats what i came up with...

You wouldn't be able to run them at the same time, but then again, why would you want to? lol

Hope this helps.