PDA

View Full Version : Newbie help -- ported box



Z3n
09-11-2011, 08:32 PM
Hey guys, I'm a complete newb when it comes to designing and building my own sub enclosure. In fact, the system I'm installing is my first system, so I'm a car audio newb too. :P

I've read the Basic EDU for a ported sub box but I still need some help and some questions answered. :P

The subs I'm working with are Kicker CompVR Aluminized. I'm going to be putting two in and have a ported box. Each sub needs 1.75 to 2.25 cubic feet, and I'm going to go with 2 cubic feet.


So what I need help with is the port and tuning the subs. I want to tune the port tuned to 35 Hz. I'm using WinISD at the moment to figure out the dimensions for the ports but I need some help/input.

So the specs that I have right now are these: 2 in x 12.50 in by 23.25 inches deep. Does that sound like it would work? I have the other things set at 2.00 cubic feet and 35 Hz tuning.

Second, for the positioning of the port, should I have it so that the ports join up as one or should I have for each sub, like on the outer edge of the box on each side?

Sorry if this is long winded and all. If there's any more info I need just say so and I'll try to find it!

Thanks!

Bettr n' Revrse
09-11-2011, 08:41 PM
Ehhh just buy my box :)

Z3n
09-11-2011, 08:52 PM
Hey I'd buy a box, but sadly I'm a high schooler with a limited budget. :P

Anyways, I think it'll be a good thing to figure out how to do now so I can make better boxes if I upgrade my system later. Plus, my dad's a carpenter so I have all the tools I'll need, and he can help me. :D

Bettr n' Revrse
09-11-2011, 08:54 PM
O ya might as well... I just know I **** it them so I buy hahaha

Z3n
09-11-2011, 08:56 PM
Well if I find out I'm absolutely lousy at designing/building my own box I'll probably have to resort to buying too. But this'll save me some money. Hopefully.

Bettr n' Revrse
09-11-2011, 08:58 PM
It should cuz of shipping unless you eff up like me and gotta keep buying sheets off wood hahaha

>>SQL<<
09-11-2011, 09:18 PM
It is nice to see someone new here actually do research before posting.
Here is what I recommend
Have a box designed by an expert here who will basically provide you with a blue print you can follow.
Ram-Designs, Mobile Enclosures are 2 of the guys on here that do designs.
That way you get to learn while still building your own box.

Z3n
09-11-2011, 09:19 PM
Hopefully we don't screw up too much wood. :P

Okay, now I have another question. :P So what I'm thinking now is having the two subs share one port in the middle. If I have them sharing a port do I need to change the port size, like double it? Or should I just make a separate port for each sub and still have them in the middle, just divided?

Z3n
09-11-2011, 09:34 PM
Crispin, how much would it cost to have one of those guys design a box for me?

EDIT: Ignore that, checked Ram Design's website. I'll think about it but I'm still going to look into how to design my own box. :P I'm just cheap like that. But I will seriously consider Ram Design. He looks like he does good work.

>>SQL<<
09-11-2011, 10:51 PM
Ram Designs is a pro

Team TH (Donny)
09-11-2011, 10:58 PM
Got measurements (Max area you have to work with; H/W/D)? I will help you out for free.. Just PM me.

hispls
09-11-2011, 11:32 PM
Have both subs share the same airspace and do one large port. I'd do the port on a side as opposed to between the subs. Just change the port size/number/etc. on winISD and it'll cough up the correct length and let you know if your port velocity is too high or not.

schrummy
09-12-2011, 12:51 PM
the port area is determined by the available air space that is inside the box. Most people will say use 12-16 in^2 of port area per cubic foot of internal airspace. so say you need 4 feet^3 of airspace, after displacement, and you decide to have 12 in^2 of port area per cubic foot. that would yield 48 in^2 of port. from there use WinISD to find out the length of port you would need......

kushy_dreams
09-12-2011, 01:51 PM
Its easiest to just put the port to 1 side of the box when doing your first slot port. You could always use 2 4inch pvc pipes as well. I prefer to use round ports cuz you just cut the hole out and drop in the tube ans glue around it and you're done.