PDA

View Full Version : Need help designing 1st 4th order

kushy_dreams
09-03-2011, 12:27 AM
I'd like to try playing around with a 4th order, I have never built one before.

woofer tsp:

Fs: 25hz
Re: 4.06ohms
Qms: 7.04
Qes: .49
Qts: .46
Vas: 114 L
Mms: 143g
Sd: 520 sq/cm
Xmax: 10.5mm

I have played around with win isd and 1.5sealed/1.5 ported tuned to 48-50hz gives me a decent response curve (27/28hz - 77/78hz at -3db)

I want something that will get louder than the ported box I did in the past for this woofer. Ported was 2.07 cu/ft tuned to 35hz with 1 4in pvc pipe port.

I'm not sure if I'm looking for something that will play music or just get loud.

I'd like to use pvc for the ports, I have 17in of 3in pvc and about 5ft of 4inch. I'm not sure if I should use 2 3in or 4in ports.

It will most likely go in the trunk of Ford Contour and will be wired to an amp thats rated for 534wrms.

My car peaks around 42hz all sealed up and 57hz with the passenger door open.

Wanna give me some recommendations for music and/or spl?

I would also be open to doing a t line if one can be adapted to fit my speaker. I don't have enough confidence in my build skills to try a folded horn.

Jroo
09-03-2011, 05:34 PM
Your subs seem close to what I am going to use. I ended up with a 4th order very close to yours. I had a guy talk to me about a tline, but the box was huge. I think he was tuning to my Fs, which are close to yours.

kushy_dreams
09-03-2011, 08:43 PM
What kind of sub did you use? Size isnt an issue for me, so a t line could work but idk how to adapt a t line to this sub because from what I have read you need a sub with qts and qes both under .4. I'm not that far away from that but I just dont know what to do.

kushy_dreams
09-06-2011, 02:48 AM
bump

Flastrongman
09-06-2011, 04:54 AM
I'd try 1.25 sealed/ 2.5 ported@50hz, 3 4" ports if you want to go with pvc.

kushy_dreams
09-06-2011, 01:59 PM