PDA

View Full Version : NEW BUILD IDEA, need help with port dimensions :)

XORstatus
08-23-2011, 07:08 PM
Hello all I am designing a box for a SINGLE memphis MOJO 15.

I am putting 1.2k watts to it daily.

The OVERALL dimensions that I have worked out are 4cubic feet total.

And the port tuned to 31 Hz is 14.5 x 2.15 x 25, I have to "U" turn the port which is giving me problems, I've never done that before and I want to double check my dimensions.

PLEASE give my your two cents!!!!

THANK YOU!!!

This is the FRONT VIEW, sorry about the quality I made these on paint.
http://i.imgur.com/yHFUj.png

This view is ON TOP of the BOX looking down.
http://i.imgur.com/6SOm3.png

---------- Post added at 07:08 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:07 PM ----------

Will there be a problem in the back corner behind the port wall?

XORstatus
08-23-2011, 07:53 PM
ALSO where does one buy auto audio carpet?

akheathen
08-24-2011, 12:36 AM
there will be a problem, you have to ballance your net volume [internal, not counting the port(and 1/2 width beyond) or the speaker displacement] with a good port area ratio of 12-16"^2 per cu. net. right now, you are somewhere between 7.5, and 9" per, not knowing the net. that makes for allot lower output. it does help to put 45's on the radius of the bend to make it more round, just as long as it does not constrict the port width. keep it square, like you did, do not slope with the back of the box, and you should be good. i buy my carpet/vinyl at a local autosound shop, but i've bought it at walmart in a pinch.

Moble Enclosurs
08-24-2011, 06:20 AM
If the mounting depth does not interfere with the port being ran along the rear wall, you could benefit more acoustically from that, accounting for the obvious characteristics of the internal volume requirements. This will be easier to design as well as more acoustically efficient.

akheathen
08-24-2011, 10:28 AM