PDA

View Full Version : Advice for a sealed enclosure with 2 Type R 12s?

Jasonc13
08-20-2011, 10:37 AM
Hello all!!

Great forum you have here!! I'm trying to learn all that I can, as I'm still a novice in this car audio world.

I was wondering if any of you could give me some advice on creating a sub enclosure.

Here's what I'm working with:

2008 Pontiac G6 coupe. I have 14" if vertical space to get the box tight up against the rear seats in the trunk. Due to space constraints, and more importantly keeping the wife happy, I will be going with a sealed box.

I have 2 2ohm Type-R 12's (SWR-1223D) with an Alpine MRD-M1005 amp.
In summary, the amp is rated at 1800 max, with 1000rms x 1. These are probably quite optimistic #'s, but that's Alpine's claimed ratings.

I'll be running the big 3 kit with 1/0 wire, which I know is overkill for what I currently have, but like like many of you here, I'm hooked on this stuff, and I WILL be upgrading eventually

To get the smallest footprint, mounting the subs vertically seems the way to go. I was thinking one fires forward into the back of the seat, wile the other faces rearward towards the trunk. What do you think of that arrangement? This still allows me to use half of the folding seat area if we need it hauling stuff.

I guess my main questions to you all are;

1. Is the .90ft^3 that Alpine recommends per 12" sub in a sealed enclosure the correct size? sound?
2. Should I separate the the 2 subs from each other with a baffle in between?
3. Should I double up the layers the sub screws into like I see many of you doing on here?
4. What is the best glue to use?
5. Is the 3/4" Mdf board you buy at Lowe's or Home Depot the right stuff?
6. Is 12ga speaker wire adequate?

I want to do this right, and appreciate you guys sharing the right plan with me.

Thanks a lot,
Jason

Jasonc13
08-21-2011, 10:09 AM
anyone?

akheathen
08-21-2011, 10:35 AM