PDA

View Full Version : box for 2 digital designs 9515's



btballer38
08-09-2011, 03:34 PM
hey guys im trying to design the best box for my subs and i dont have too much room to work with.the box is going into my 1995 honda accord ex 4 door sedan. for now there going to be run off a 2k amp but im hoping to get a bigger amp when i can make some more cash.




the dimensions of the box is W33" x D28" x H14.5"

the subs will be facing upwards and im deciding if i want to but the side by side or having them on a angle. i also would like the port to be facing towards the inside of my car ( maybe a aero port?? ) but i would like to know whats the best port size. im thinking the box should be around 34hz ???

any other tips and helpful advise will be extremely appreciated :)

Chriszle
08-09-2011, 03:36 PM
Not enough space for 2 9515s, maybe 1...

wickedwitt
08-09-2011, 03:42 PM
Not enough space for 2 9515s, maybe 1...

Not enough space for the HUGE text either...

I'd run one ported. You'll be choking two 15s in that space

EDIT: Oh, and if you aren't going to be blocking the trunk off from the cabin area, face the sub and port away from you.


Agreed. Run one with sub up aero port side... Plus you only have 2k for now, which one sub would like that much more...

Or do this, I'm not a trunk person, but I do know that towards you isn't the way to go in 95% of cases.

The_Grimy_One
08-09-2011, 03:43 PM
Agreed. Run one with sub up aero port side... Plus you only have 2k for now, which one sub would like that much more...

btballer38
08-09-2011, 04:35 PM
but if i only ran 1 sub my amp would only give it 1500 watts... im trying to make more room but how many cubic ft do both subs need?

Chriszle
08-09-2011, 05:12 PM
at least 8 cu/ft after all displacements.

btballer38
08-09-2011, 05:29 PM
i made a cardboard make of the box and i can make it a bit bigger and i can get it to around 7.5 cu/ft, how thick do you think the mdf should be ?

Chriszle
08-09-2011, 05:40 PM
After sub,port,bracing you will not be able to build a proper box for 2 9515s. I barely fit a box for 2 9512s in my Concorde and my trunk is wayyy bigger than yours (I used to have a 96 Accord Ex).

RAM_Designs
08-09-2011, 06:03 PM
You simply do not have enough room to run both. You need to totally ditch that idea.

btballer38
08-09-2011, 07:09 PM
its hard to when i bought the subs... lol

btballer38
08-09-2011, 10:31 PM
how thick of MDF should i use??

surreal
08-10-2011, 12:26 AM
Ill agree with everyone else. you just dont have enough space.

btballer38
08-10-2011, 01:45 AM
i got the box up to 7.62 cu/ft so thats pretty close to me. what happens if the box is a little smaller then the the specs of the subs?

RAM_Designs
08-10-2011, 01:47 AM
i got the box up to 7.62 cu/ft so thats pretty close to me. what happens if the box is a little smaller then the the specs of the subs?

That's before displacements. You need around 10ft^3 before displacements to end up with ~8ft^3 for those subs.

Chriszle
08-10-2011, 02:18 AM
Sometimes less is more. I would be willing to bet that 1 15 will be louder out of your trunk than 2. I also hope you have the electrical support to run 2k watts. Stock Accord alternators are very weak.

btballer38
08-10-2011, 02:30 AM
but i cant wire 1 dual 2 ohm sub to a 2ohm amp..?

Chriszle
08-10-2011, 02:36 AM
My advice is to sell 1 sub and the amp, and buy an amp that does its power at 1 ohm.

btballer38
08-10-2011, 11:31 AM
its hard to sell stuff when shipping from Canada isnt too great... :( i gotta find a way to make this work

T.I.K.
08-10-2011, 02:56 PM
Who buys equipment before they even know if it will fit in their car?

I have a hard time feeling sorry for you when this is an easily avoidable problem,

btballer38
08-10-2011, 04:36 PM
i got the box up to 7.92 cu/ft AFTER displacement :) just took alot of thinking and taking out stuff in my trunk.

mlstrass
08-11-2011, 02:46 AM
You could run 3kw per sub in that size enclosure. DD's like big boxes, I never go under 4.25cubes net for a 15...