PDA

View Full Version : bad tranny?



09civic
08-07-2011, 06:09 PM
so today i was driving home and my "service engine" light pops on. so i come to a stop light and go to accelerate and it wont go into 3rd gear. it goes in 2nd fine. after second, i have to get up to 40 mph to get it into 4th. does my tranny need to be flushed or replaced? thanks.

oh its a 1995 saturn SL1, automatic, 65k miles.

hispls
08-07-2011, 06:23 PM
http://www.wigdahl.net/quern/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/crossdresser1.jpg


Sounds like a bad tranny to me.

Imtjnotu
08-07-2011, 06:32 PM
hoe does it get out of first and in to gear

sounds like a tranny and not a clutch issue

Kangaroux
08-07-2011, 06:35 PM
first the alt, now the tranny. lul

05trailblazer
08-07-2011, 06:41 PM
umm automatic trans don't have a clutch, just manual trans.

hoe does it get out of first and in to gear

sounds like a tranny and not a clutch issue

optimusprime
08-07-2011, 06:42 PM
at least its easy to work on?

05trailblazer
08-07-2011, 06:53 PM
if you had expirience is a piece of cake if you haven't then its a pain in the a55. are you going to change the whole transmission ? or a sineloid?

09civic
08-07-2011, 06:54 PM
if you had expirience is a piece of cake if you haven't then its a pain in the a55. are you going to change the whole transmission ? or a sineloid?

whatever will fix it

mast240
08-07-2011, 07:06 PM
sounds like its prolly a tranny problem (could be something more minor... but its hard to tell, with it just having started)... word of advice tho, just be careful about the shop you take it too... one of the oldest tricks in the book, for rip off shops atleast, is to just flush the tranny... it makes it run great for 50-100 miles, then runs even worse then before... seen it multiple times

09civic
08-07-2011, 07:09 PM
sounds like its prolly a tranny problem (could be something more minor... but its hard to tell, with it just having started)... word of advice tho, just be careful about the shop you take it too... one of the oldest tricks in the book, for rip off shops atleast, is to just flush the tranny... it makes it run great for 50-100 miles, then runs even worse then before... seen it multiple times

will a popular auto place recommend it? for example, gattos.

BlactimusCrime
08-07-2011, 07:12 PM
umm automatic trans don't have a clutch, just manual trans.

Wrong.... auto boxes have clutches on the inside :fyi:

mast240
08-07-2011, 07:16 PM
anyone that recommends a flush right away, before even looking at the problem, i would stay away from... sometimes a flush can fix problems... but due to the fact that the tranny is a closed system, its more time then not not going to do the job... alot of people think that a flush is a cure-all.. but most likely, with just a flush, the problem will go away for a lil bit, and then rear its ugly head again down the road. almost impossible to diagnose over the web tho... best advice i can give you, if the problem continues to happen, is to take it to a reputable shop, and have them look at it

---------- Post added at 07:16 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:15 PM ----------


Wrong.... auto boxes have clutches on the inside :fyi:

agreed... autos usually have multiple clutch plates... thats one of the reasons their such a pain to work on

Imtjnotu
08-07-2011, 07:19 PM
start calling ur local junkyards for a used one man

Bettr n' Revrse
08-07-2011, 07:23 PM
umm automatic trans don't have a clutch, just manual trans.

Wrong just not a pedal...

Sleeklsc
08-09-2011, 06:30 PM
I'm surprised nobody said it yet but get the fu ck'n codes checked first. It's obviously something electrical causing the trans to act up. Some of you guys are to quick to jump at " uuuuuh the trans busted bro" when you have no ******* idea how to even change you're own god dam oil..

mast240
08-09-2011, 06:43 PM
I'm surprised nobody said it yet but get the fu ck'n codes checked first. It's obviously something electrical causing the trans to act up. Some of you guys are to quick to jump at " uuuuuh the trans busted bro" when you have no ******* idea how to even change you're own god dam oil..

why dont you post a reason as to why you say electrical???

Sleeklsc
08-09-2011, 06:46 PM
why dont you post a reason as to why you say electrical???



so today i was driving home and my "service engine" light pops on. so i come to a stop light and go to accelerate and it wont go into 3rd gear. it goes in 2nd fine. after second, i have to get up to 40 mph to get it into 4th. does my tranny need to be flushed or replaced? thanks.

oh its a 1995 saturn SL1, automatic, 65k miles.


.....

Pborcich
08-09-2011, 07:05 PM
Seeing as how i know very little about transmissions...
Sounds like a bad ground? :-P

Sleeklsc
08-09-2011, 07:12 PM
Seeing as how i know very little about transmissions...
Sounds like a bad ground? :-P

lol, unlikely. Prob a sensor. What sensor? idk. Thats why he has to have his ecu scanned to find out.

Sleeklsc
08-30-2011, 08:34 AM
So what did it end up being you va gina?

tenbux1970
08-30-2011, 10:49 AM
Nobody said "did you check the fluid". Could be something simple.

FineLinePimpin
09-13-2011, 02:10 PM
Could be a speed sensor, range sensor...or another sensor on the trans. Chrysler trans' used to do this and they had problems with inout and output speed sensors on the trans. Untill you get it checked out you are just grabbing at straws buddy.

Rich B
09-13-2011, 02:24 PM
I'm surprised nobody said it yet but get the fu ck'n codes checked first. It's obviously something electrical causing the trans to act up. Some of you guys are to quick to jump at " uuuuuh the trans busted bro" when you have no ******* idea how to even change you're own god dam oil..


My Mitsubishi wasnt shifting and threw a code, I plugged in my OBDII scanner and it was a relay that went bad.

Always check the code if the check engine light comes on, it will save a ton of hassles later.

OP, buy a scanner, they are like $30 at Harbor Freight.

jco1385
09-13-2011, 02:58 PM
it's a saturn -> there's your problem :fyi:

Heeltoeclutch
09-14-2011, 03:06 PM
Wow 64k miles and it's a 95? Wish I could do that :crap:

I agree check codes first if you haven't; a lot of places will scan em for free; if you know someone with the Torque app on Android phones (iPhone too?) that will work as well if they have the bluetooth adapter.

Silly auto trans :p:

wenn_du_weinst
09-14-2011, 03:31 PM
if it's an auto then how do you know it's 4th gear and not going into 3rd?

audioholic
09-14-2011, 04:08 PM
if it's an auto then how do you know it's 4th gear and not going into 3rd?

He can probably tell by the speed and RPM's. Or I should say could tell, since this was a month ago. I assume he's fixed it by now.