PDA

View Full Version : Why aero port on outide of box?



45js45
07-27-2011, 10:50 AM
What are the benefits other than internal space savings to running the aero port on the outside?I see these mostly on spl setups?

Phoenix Risen
07-27-2011, 10:52 AM
i would think it would cut down on internal turbulence a bit as well since there is nothing inside the box to break things up.

surreal
07-27-2011, 02:04 PM
Not quite, putting the input flare on the outside isnt the best idea.. and its a pretty useful piece.

People do this as it is easy to change tunings/ports quickly.

pro-rabbit
07-27-2011, 02:06 PM
I did it in the CRX I had for loading purposes...gained a huge amount of db when I tested with it. This was 6 years ago though lol.

jeepintn
07-27-2011, 02:13 PM
As rabbit said, to gain loading from the enclosure is one. Also, many times its to have multiple port options where you can swap them out quickly to change the tuning

RAM_Designs
07-27-2011, 02:44 PM
It's an easy way to change tunings while maintaining the same internal volume, which is useful when testing and tweaking a spl setup.