PDA

View Full Version : blown fuse?



09civic
07-26-2011, 10:24 PM
so about 2 weeks ago, i was making my connections to the back of the headunit better. i never cut any wire. i just re-tied my door speaker wires. so the following night, i notice that my interior lights aren't working. i thought it was no big deal since it was just the interior lighting. so tonight, i notice that my tail lights aren't working either. my brake lights work but the constant dim that they give when driving at night do no work. could this be a fuse that is blown?

Kangaroux
07-26-2011, 10:43 PM
Check your fuse box for anything that is blown and also make sure that your new connections aren't shorting out anything. I had a similar problem but I don't remember what I did to fix it..it was a simple fix though

mylows10
07-26-2011, 10:47 PM
sounds like a fuse

Bassin Buick
07-26-2011, 10:50 PM
you may have accedentally tied into a dimmer wire in the factory head unit wiring. NEVER USE THAT WIRE!! LOL.

09civic
07-26-2011, 10:51 PM
you may have accedentally tied into a dimmer wire in the factory head unit wiring. NEVER USE THAT WIRE!! LOL.

and that does?

Kangaroux
07-26-2011, 10:52 PM
and that does?

For aftermarket headunits there is an orange wire which lets you control the headunit's illumination (most cars have an interior brightness knob).

09civic
07-26-2011, 10:54 PM
For aftermarket headunits there is an orange wire which lets you control the headunit's illumination (most cars have an interior brightness knob).

yes i have a knob

Bassin Buick
07-26-2011, 10:55 PM
well some cars it sends a ground through that wire when the headlights are switched on. Some cars it shoots a 12v+ signal through that wire , some cars its shoots a variable + through the wire depending on where the dimmer switch is turned to. I fried a stereo one time trying to connect it in a '93 cavilier and since then i have learned to just never use it.

Kangaroux
07-26-2011, 10:55 PM
yes i have a knob

feg :fyi:

Check to see if anything is hooked up to an orange wire lol

09civic
07-26-2011, 10:57 PM
feg :fyi:

Check to see if anything is hooked up to an orange wire lol

i dont have an alumination wire for my hu