PDA

View Full Version : Box for 4 SA-8s



Why So Cereal?
07-26-2011, 04:57 PM
Alright vehicle is a 2010 Scion tC.
Got 4 Sundown SA-8s.
Wanna go ported.... preferably aeroports!
Now should i mount the subs on top and port back? (had this setup before with 2 12s and it was pretty cool)
Subs and port up? (never had it but noone seems to do that)
or subs and port back (had this setup and it was probably the loudest but could have been the subs too)
or subs back, port side?? (had this on my prefab Kicker L7 and it got ridiculously loud)

Also wanna tune to around 30-33 hz......so what size should I make the box? and also What size aeroports?

max 36 wide
max 15 (give or take) deep
max 13 high

KyleBechtold
07-26-2011, 05:05 PM
you are at 2.83 before port.. for that tuning and port area you are going to be below recommended box size

Imtjnotu
07-26-2011, 05:10 PM
how much power are u going to be giving them.....more power for smaller on these...i had one off 7-800 in a 1 cube box and it was too large for it

pro-rabbit
07-26-2011, 05:11 PM
I would suggest around 3-3.2ft3 for 4 net(after displacements)

Why So Cereal?
07-26-2011, 05:27 PM
I plan on giving each about 400rms.

Pro rabbit I actually might have u build the box. :)

pro-rabbit
07-26-2011, 05:45 PM
I plan on giving each about 400rms.

Pro rabbit I actually might have u build the box. :)

Would be my pleasure, if you so decide to go that direction.

RAM_Designs
07-26-2011, 05:49 PM
I plan on giving each about 400rms.

3ft^3 after displacements will work well in this case, but you just don't have the room for that with the dimensions you gave us.

BlactimusCrime
07-26-2011, 05:50 PM
I had 4 in a 3cube box, tuned to 34, using 2 full length 4" aeros powered by a AQ2200d at .5

It was pretty nasty, and never did they bottom out

pro-rabbit
07-26-2011, 05:53 PM
3ft^3 after displacements will work well in this case, but you just don't have the room for that with the dimensions you gave us.

As Ram said you just don't have the room with the dims you provided.

Why So Cereal?
07-26-2011, 06:04 PM
Well I'll use the dimensions of my 18" sub box as max dims.

Width: 38.9
Depth: 22
Height: 13.5

What about now??

pro-rabbit
07-26-2011, 06:05 PM
More then enough room there...

Would you want a slot port or precision port?

Why So Cereal?
07-26-2011, 06:09 PM
More then enough room there...

Would you want a slot port or precision port?

I just wanna make sure i dont keep hitting tha hatch when i close it.

preferably precision port.

pro-rabbit
07-26-2011, 06:13 PM
shouldn't be to hard to achieve that small goal...

You want subs up and port back I'm guessing?

If so, it is fairly easy to get done.

Why So Cereal?
07-26-2011, 06:19 PM
whichever you recommend....im not sure how i want them facing.

pro-rabbit
07-27-2011, 01:21 AM
with precision ports you would almost have to port back to get the length you need for tuning.

Moble Enclosurs
07-27-2011, 02:11 AM
The sa8s will normally have a peaked resonance in a standard ported design, unless compression is made larger, which in your case is unlikely. If you control the resonance using a tapered design, either normal or reverse, you should be able to control the peak from those drivers. They are sensitive to specific volume requirements. But if you like the peak resonance, which can also aid in the overall output, then by all means, nothing would be better than a simple reflex with aeroports as requested. It would be recommended to consider other design options as well, than everyone throwing out box volumes from mid air, and actually figuring a response goal ahead of time. If pro-rabbit agrees to let you have him design it, take him up on that rather than trying to gather estimated numbers from many different posts. You will likely get more of what you want that way.

Why So Cereal?
07-27-2011, 09:27 AM
That part is fine, but could I do subs and port back?