PDA

View Full Version : How to hook up an additional 12" sub and a mono amp to my current system.



dubstep009
07-25-2011, 10:19 AM
I have a simple sound system in my car, 4 JL speakers, tweeters, kenwood stereo, infinity amp hooked up to my speakers and my 10" JL sub. My dad doesn't use his JL 12" sub with a JL mono amp hooked on top of the box so I'm going to hook it up in my car. I know this might sound easy to any of you but I would like to know/learn from you how can I hook up the extra sub with the mono amplifier to my current system. And also how many ohms each sub should be running on and all that. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

09civic
07-25-2011, 10:28 AM
don't mix sub sizes

dubstep009
07-25-2011, 10:37 AM
Why not? I've read it's okay to do so

hispls
07-25-2011, 10:44 AM
Individual results may vary, but it's a crapshoot.. Oddly enough, the people who tell you it's a bad idea since you lose SQ have systems that are designed to play a 60hz sine wave for 3 seconds at 150+dB

Anyway, more info on the model of amp and voice coil options on both subs. I've had mixing sub sizes work OK (many top tier cabinet speakers mix woofer sizes....then again they spend years testing to make sure they work well together), and also seen it turn out an accoustic disaster.... and it almost always looks ghetto.

09civic
07-25-2011, 10:49 AM
Individual results may vary, but it's a crapshoot.. Oddly enough, the people who tell you it's a bad idea since you lose SQ have systems that are designed to play a 60hz sine wave for 3 seconds at 150+dB

Anyway, more info on the model of amp and voice coil options on both subs. I've had mixing sub sizes work OK (many top tier cabinet speakers mix woofer sizes....then again they spend years testing to make sure they work well together), and also seen it turn out an accoustic disaster.... and it almost always looks ghetto.


i say it's a bad idea yet i dont burp or compete....

hispls
07-25-2011, 10:53 AM
Whatever. Not like he's buying the equipment so nothing to lose from trying.

dubstep009
07-25-2011, 11:04 AM
Right? I also thought the same thing, that it'd look ghetto. I think I'm better off just buying another 10" to add to the one I already have.

09civic
07-25-2011, 11:06 AM
or just run the one 12.

Phoenix Risen
07-25-2011, 11:07 AM
or sell all the jl stuff and buy a stronger setup. say a pair of dcon 10s in a low tuned ported enclosure and an aq750. since your looking to upgrade might as well do it right.

09civic
07-25-2011, 11:07 AM
oh and you posted in the wrong secion btw

dubstep009
07-25-2011, 11:12 AM
Everyone, thanks for the comments.

hispls
07-25-2011, 02:41 PM
or sell all the jl stuff and buy a stronger setup.

^^^^

This. JL stuff at least holds a fair resale value and should do well on craigslist. Raise up some cash and come back here and check to FS section for something nice.

Trancer
07-25-2011, 08:46 PM
Well for starters, you could post in the correct section. This is a For Sale section, not a help section