PDA

View Full Version : Orion HCCA 12.2 on 3kwrms box recommendations!!



BumpinKota
07-03-2011, 02:33 PM
Iv got an orion hcca 12.2 being powered by a sundown 3k. Iv got a 6" aeroport layin around was thinking about using that. Just wondering what a good box size would be for these subs iv been hearing too much of a variety of sizes to use. Was thinking around 3 cubes @ 32hz w the aero. Its in a dodge dakota extended cab being downfired. Let me know what you guys think, Thanks.

BumpinKota
07-03-2011, 05:40 PM
Help!

Flastrongman
07-03-2011, 05:46 PM
I would go 2.75 with a 6" aero.

BumpinKota
07-04-2011, 11:00 AM
Any other recommendations?

BumpinKota
07-05-2011, 12:09 PM
Not alot of help on this site anymore….

09civic
07-05-2011, 12:11 PM
3 is a little too much.

BumpinKota
07-06-2011, 03:26 PM
3 is a little too much.

A lil more specific would be fantastic

BumpinKota
07-06-2011, 05:55 PM
3kw is not at all too much power if you know what you are doing. Seen 12.2's on 8+kw each in the past.

He wasnt saying its too much power he said too much airspace...

surreal
07-07-2011, 04:50 AM
Given they have specs listed, Id be happy to do the design for a fee.

BumpinKota
07-07-2011, 09:36 AM
Given they have specs listed, Id be happy to do the design for a fee.

I have no problem designing them im just looking for someone who has played with these to tell me what airspace is the most successful

BumpinKota
07-08-2011, 11:02 AM
^^^

BumpinKota
07-12-2011, 06:48 PM
^^^

The_Grimy_One
07-12-2011, 07:00 PM
The box designs in their manuals are very accurate. I would go off that.

GeekSquad
07-20-2011, 07:09 PM
The box designs in their manuals are very accurate. I would go off that.

You are going to need more than 28 square inches of port on 3000 watts RMS. If you are going for 3 cubic feet, then your port needs to be a bit larger to stay linear at high power levels.

I would shoot for 40-48 square inches of port for that sub, which precludes the Aero port, but you can make your own loud, round port with a little ingenuity.

BumpinKota
07-20-2011, 09:38 PM
I appreciate the input. Was thinking the same thing I already decided to do a slot tho :D Thanks!





You are going to need more than 28 square inches of port on 3000 watts RMS. If you are going for 3 cubic feet, then your port needs to be a bit larger to stay linear at high power levels.

I would shoot for 40-48 square inches of port for that sub, which precludes the Aero port, but you can make your own loud, round port with a little ingenuity.