PDA

View Full Version : Too much cubic feet?



xmakeafistx
06-28-2011, 08:44 AM
http://mobile.jlaudio.com/pdfs/15_18W6_BDS.pdf

Here are the recommendations..

I recently built a box for two of these, but I think its a little big when I did calculations I found out its 6.5 cubes.

I know its a rather nubby question, but how will the box being much above the recommendations effect my sound typically? They aren't sounding as loud as I expected, & I was wondering if this was a factor.

Thank you all, please call me out if my question isn't very clear.

Stryker
06-28-2011, 09:30 AM
if you think it's too big you can always add some large blocks of wood on the inside(fasten them down) to take away air space. if your box is way to big it may sound boomy. You can always start over and make a new box. What kind of sub and power running it?

dbeez
06-28-2011, 10:13 AM
We need box specs to verify the actual size of the box is it ported or sealed.

xmakeafistx
06-28-2011, 11:10 AM
I will be taking measurements in a few minutes, & I'm running 2 15w6 JL's. With about 1000 watts to them, it is a ported box.

05trailblazer
07-04-2011, 03:20 PM
it will affect the sound quality i want to say its basically like having them in no box if the dimensions are too big

pr-festiva
07-04-2011, 03:27 PM
3.25 dont sound to big for a 15,,is it tuned right?

mast240
07-04-2011, 03:56 PM
yea... i dont think it sounds too big.... may be a lil bigger than reccommended... but that on its own wont make it sound ******... sounds like the tuning is prolly wrong

RAM_Designs
07-04-2011, 10:01 PM
6.5ft^3 before or after sub and port displacements? Post up some actual box specs so that we can double check it for you.