PDA

View Full Version : 2v Preamp vs 4v Preamp



kylej
06-27-2011, 09:47 PM
My head unit (Alpine CDA-105) only has a 2v preamp output for some reason. Alpine cheaped out there I suppose. Does the 4v really make that much difference in quality?

destined2race
06-27-2011, 09:59 PM
its definately a difference, i like running at least 5v preouts personally.

brmcm15
06-27-2011, 10:05 PM
its definately a difference, i like running at least 5v preouts personally.

eclipse ftw brotha.


"Don't worry about the pre-out voltage, and simply set the gains correctly for the amplifier on hand.

The more important spec on pre-out (IMO) is the output impedance - the lower the better. The output impedance is more important because it determines how much noise rejection the output devices are capable of maintaining (rather than noise masking, as a higher RCA voltage does).

The Pioneer head units (typically) offer neither high voltage OR low impedance outputs, this in addition to the noisy and relatively poorly designed ground plane within the units, makes them very susceptible to noise right off the bat. Proper HU grounding is VERY important with Pioneer heads. If really THAT worried about it, get a different (i.e. better) head unit."

RCA output voltage, nouseforaname (http://www.the12volt.com/installbay/forum_posts.asp?TID=84618&KW=nouseforaname)

d77543020
06-27-2011, 10:06 PM
not a huge difference if its a quality headunit

Kangaroux
06-27-2011, 10:06 PM
higher voltage is usually better but just make sure whatever voltage you go with, your amp has at least a minimum of that

grandam888
06-27-2011, 10:50 PM
all higher voltage outputs do is change how low the amp gain is going to be set to as compared to a lower voltage output.

CHEMMINS
06-27-2011, 11:10 PM
I can tell ya a 2v Denon has better sq than an 8v eclipse.

trumpet
06-29-2011, 11:00 PM
My head unit (Alpine CDA-105) only has a 2v preamp output for some reason. Alpine cheaped out there I suppose.

Your CDA-105 is entry level from Alpine. That's what you get from any Tier 1 manufacturer's low end models. 2V outputs are not as important as having enough pre-outs for your system. If the 105 does what you need then you're fine.

bubbagumper6
06-29-2011, 11:25 PM
No, it will make no difference to you.