PDA

View Full Version : PVC port area for 1.75 cubes @ 28hz without noise?



skylineTT
06-14-2011, 11:51 PM
I am super limited on space and im doing a 1.75 cube box behind the seats in my single cab 93 ranger (no room).. box is 50x13x4x8 wedge with 4 being top depth and 8 being bottom depth. I am using .5" MDF or Birch and am invert mounting an SPLaudio type X 10 on the box so that "dat a**" will be chilling between the seats (no center console). I will be running around 1000w+ to it and want to tune the box to 28hz. I would like to use a PVC port due to price and dont mind shooting it out of the box or w/e. What do you guys think?

kushy_dreams
06-15-2011, 01:13 AM
Maybe side fire it if you can. Most 10s work well with a 3in port but that sub will move more air so you could probably use a 4 inch. Either way if you use pvc, add .5in to the size for your cutout if you use schedule 40. A 4inch pvc with 1.75 cu/ft would need to be 21.75in long for a 28hz tune but a 3 inch would only need 11.68 in long.

skylineTT
06-15-2011, 01:15 AM
it would eat up a butt load of space if i did the port internally right? or is that a 28hz tune with the port in the box?

kushy_dreams
06-15-2011, 01:45 AM
You'd have to add port displacement and sub displacement which will bring your overall total to around 2 cu/ft.

I put in the dimensions you listed and its only 1.7 with .5in wood. If you use that thin of wood you need to put a ton of bracing inside, which is gonna eat up space. You could also cover the inside of the box with at least 1/4in of fiberglass resin but thats still gonna eat up some space.

RAM_Designs
06-15-2011, 08:36 AM
I'd use 4", it really won't take up that much volume. A 22" long port is only going to take up .2ft^3.

dbeez
06-15-2011, 09:35 AM
4" as ram said is what you need.

UMWDawg92
06-15-2011, 09:45 AM
And brace it like crazy if you're only using .5 inch wood

dbeez
06-15-2011, 10:11 AM
Do not use 1/2" mdf I missed that use 3/4" mdf.

T.I.K.
06-15-2011, 12:58 PM
Use .75" MDF, and you won't really have to brace it a whole lot, it's only a 10" and it's not on a whole lot of power, and I would do two 3" aeroports.

I'd mount them externally, one behind the drivers and one behind the passenger's seat.

skylineTT
06-15-2011, 01:46 PM
I am invert mounting it so i figure that added a tiny bit of internal volume. I was going to use .5 but use a very strong wood but i guess i can go .75.. i just thought it would eat a crap load of space. I was originally thinking about doing 2 3"s because it would fit better coming out of the top of the box (4 inches wide).

If i use a 4" and it only takes up .2.. that will leave me at 1.5 at 28hz still? and the sub is a Type X motor built with low fs and high roll surround to move more air. invert mounting and running on at least 1000w at 1ohm.

Also, thanks for the help guys, keep it coming! :cool: