PDA

View Full Version : aero port question



DMV1919
06-08-2011, 01:30 AM
I'm gonna be building a ported box 1.75-2 (haven't decided yet) cu ft @ 30 hz for a Skar VVX12 given 800 watts @ 2 ohms by a Directed 1500d

The box will be going in the back of a camaro and according to this (http://www.caraudiohelp.com/newsletter/cabin_gain.htm) the best sub/port placement would be upfiring into the glass

I can fire the port towards the glass with a 3" diameter port with no problems, but if I use a 4" port, the port length is too long and i would have to have the port going to a side

Will a 3" port have enough port area or would i be better off with a 4" to the side?

Phoenix Risen
06-08-2011, 01:51 AM
i wouldnt run any less than a 4'' aero on a 12.

i actually use 3''ers on single sa-8 boxes.

RAM_Designs
06-08-2011, 02:32 AM
i wouldnt run any less than a 4'' aero on a 12.

i actually use 3''ers on single sa-8 boxes.

This. If you're wanting to tune low then slot port is going to be much easier to do.

kushy_dreams
06-08-2011, 01:41 PM
You can always run the port externally like in my avatar or even partially external.

Buck
06-08-2011, 03:31 PM
Slot port or elbow ftw.

DMV1919
06-09-2011, 01:55 AM
thanks guys. i guess i'll be trying to design a slot port box that will fit back there. would about 20 sq inches of port area be good?

kushy_dreams
06-09-2011, 01:10 PM
Thats a little too small, I'd go with around. 25-30 sq in of port area. At 2 cu/ft thats 12.5-15 sq in per cu/ft.

DMV1919
06-09-2011, 01:14 PM
Alright thanks. Just curious, how does port area affect the sound?

Boomsday
06-09-2011, 01:20 PM
Slot port or elbow ftw.

Always thought elbows lower efficiency by a bit

kushy_dreams
06-09-2011, 01:21 PM
Too small of a port creates port noise (chuffing). Too large of a port makes the box more peaky and performace below port tuning will fall drastically. (someone correct me if I'm wrong here, pretty sure I got it right though)