PDA

View Full Version : Pontiac Grand Am 2000 (Coupe) front speakers ?

truedatt
02-16-2004, 05:18 AM
Hey all!

I am a newbie to this message board, and basically a newbie to car stereo installation (although I have installed about 10+ receivers, and speakers, subwoofers and amps in my car and others).

Basically I am looking for information on how to go about changing the front speakers on my 2000 Pontiac Grand AM. My brother had the same car, and totalled his...so we had to get his speakers out. The back speakers were easy to get out, but the front were difficult. Since the car was totalled, we went about getting the front speakers out the messy way! LOL! When I install his speakers in my Grand AM, I'd like to do it right! Where can I go about getting information on doing this? I'd also like to replace the tweeters as well and run my own wire to my amplifier (which I will eventually be putting in da trunk!).

What I am wondering is, is there a book I should buy for this? Or is there somewhere online where I can get help on doing this?

Thanks in advance!
Josh

desi_daru
02-16-2004, 05:22 AM
http://www.carstereohelp.com/stereoremoval.htm

BUT i cant find the 2000 grand am, only upto 95, maybe still the same.... i dunno worth a look for u atleast

truedatt
02-16-2004, 07:29 AM
Thanks desi_daru!

I actually did some searching around and saw that link that you provided.

I also found this: http://www.xtremega.com/forums/showthread.php?p=2600#post2600

I don't know how accurate this is. Can anyone confirm this info?

Thanks!
Josh

Pete
02-16-2004, 10:14 AM
That link is pretty close from what I remember... another place they try to hide screws is in the black handle you pull to open the door from the inside. Alot of times there is a cover that needs to be popped off to see the screw.