PDA

View Full Version : Android as usb drive



bcdudley
05-05-2011, 02:30 PM
I have an Alpine head unit that I plug my Android phone into via usb cable and use it as a jump drive to play mp3's. I have been using it this way for about a year. I had been putting all of the files in a folder with a path of /media/audio/album/....

Yesterday, I found a new app that handles my media much better. I deleted everything from the previous folder and re-downloaded it all to the new folder /subsonic/music/album/....

Now, when I plug my phone in, all my Alpine can see is the ringtones and other junk folders.

Looking at the mp3's, the bitrates are mostly 190k to 256k.

Any ideas what is causing this? Will it only read a certain number of folders, then give up?

Thanks in advance.

nateberrier
05-05-2011, 02:38 PM
Not sure, I couldnt get it to work with my CDA117

sacsking916
05-05-2011, 02:39 PM
its probably something more in the phone than in the HU. the HU is probably trying to pull it from your media folder(stock one). im guessing thats why its only picking up ringtones and stuff

bcdudley
05-05-2011, 02:55 PM
I was thinking it may be something on the phone as well, but I am not sure what. When I plug my phone into the computer. It works just fine and I can see all the files. Just to see what happens, I moved the mp3's to the media folder and they were able to play fine. When I move them back to the subsonic folder, they are not seen again. Is the HU smart enough to only look in the media folder. I know for certain that it pulls all my ringtones from a different folder.

mast240
05-05-2011, 02:57 PM
does your phone go into mass storage mode when you plug it in???

bcdudley
05-05-2011, 02:59 PM
Yes, it does. I have to manually set it that way every time, but it goes into a disk drive mode.

sacsking916
05-05-2011, 03:42 PM
yeah put your music back into the media folder and youll be fine. thats what id do. what phone you got?

bcdudley
05-05-2011, 03:58 PM
I have an Evo. The problem with putting the music into the media folder is that the app I am using will only read and write it from the subsonic folder. I have gone through the settings on the app and there are no options for moving it. I will ask the developer if he can include that in a future release maybe.

sacsking916
05-05-2011, 04:29 PM
what app is it?

bcdudley
05-05-2011, 04:46 PM
The app is called Subsonic. It works with a server I have at home called Subsonic as well. It is a jukebox for local and streaming over the internet. Very neat program. I am putting in a feature request to allow to specify the location of downloads.

blazeplacid
05-12-2011, 11:18 AM
can you go into the settings of that app and tell it which folders to use?

I know with power amp you can