PDA

View Full Version : Motor mount question



09civic
04-17-2011, 08:19 AM
Ok, so i was test driving a car and the owner said it needed new motor mounts. So when he turned the car on the car would vibrate pretty bad in park and reverse. BUT, when in drive it was smooth and no vibration. I looked up if it was for sure the motor mounts and it says that it vibrates at high speeds...help?

09civic
04-17-2011, 09:02 AM
help please

Kangaroux
04-17-2011, 09:03 AM
i thought you just bought a car?

09civic
04-17-2011, 09:52 AM
bump

09civic
04-17-2011, 11:43 AM
cmon guys

09civic
04-17-2011, 12:31 PM
somebodyyy

09civic
04-17-2011, 01:16 PM
yall are useless when it comes to actual cars lol

fasfocus00
04-17-2011, 01:23 PM
yall are useless when it comes to actual cars lol

sadly not true. you have no real question in your original post, you have "help?". what do you want to know since you have no question in your original post and now start name calling.

09civic
04-17-2011, 01:26 PM
sadly not true. you have no real question in your original post, you have "help?". what do you want to know since you have no question in your original post and now start name calling.

my question is, does it need new motor mounts? even when online it says that it shakes at high speeds unlike this vehicle wich was shaking in park and reverse.

Germ305
04-17-2011, 01:28 PM
If you can't check the mounts yourself....take it to a reputable shop and have them check it...

I havent done motor mounts in a hot minute...but i believe the "ghetto" way to check it is you pop open your hood and look at the motor while someone else revs it....if the motor jumps around or looks like it is about to come out of the car then yeah you need new motor mounts.

fasfocus00
04-17-2011, 01:36 PM
my question is, does it need new motor mounts? even when online it says that it shakes at high speeds unlike this vehicle wich was shaking in park and reverse.

did you even look at the motor or the motor mounts? if a motor mount is bad you can usually visually tell by the way the motor sits (it'll lean). I can tell you if the motor mounts are bad but I'd have to actually see the car in person. this is like calling your mechanic and saying "my car doesn't work fix it". if a motor mount is bad it can cause vibration at high speeds as well as at idle, depends on the severity of how compromised the motor mount is. vibration shouldn't be that bad at high speeds b/c the motor doesn't move as much and usually at higher speeds you have a constant load on the engine. if the car has a cable pull throttle body you can just start the car up, pop open the hood and give a little throttle and see how much the engine moves. the movement should be minimal, if it move alot than chances are a motor mount is bad. also it will depend on the location of the motor mounts as to what the car will do. it may also be a transmission mount. either way a motor mount is a relatively simple swap if you have the right tools. some can be swapped with only have the engine supported on a hoist, other are pretty much the same just might have to remove one or two more brackets.

Germ305
04-17-2011, 01:38 PM
This is a REAL bad motor mount....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PHlIyxazKmY&feature=related

09civic
04-17-2011, 01:51 PM
did you even look at the motor or the motor mounts? if a motor mount is bad you can usually visually tell by the way the motor sits (it'll lean). I can tell you if the motor mounts are bad but I'd have to actually see the car in person. this is like calling your mechanic and saying "my car doesn't work fix it". if a motor mount is bad it can cause vibration at high speeds as well as at idle, depends on the severity of how compromised the motor mount is. vibration shouldn't be that bad at high speeds b/c the motor doesn't move as much and usually at higher speeds you have a constant load on the engine. if the car has a cable pull throttle body you can just start the car up, pop open the hood and give a little throttle and see how much the engine moves. the movement should be minimal, if it move alot than chances are a motor mount is bad. also it will depend on the location of the motor mounts as to what the car will do. it may also be a transmission mount. either way a motor mount is a relatively simple swap if you have the right tools. some can be swapped with only have the engine supported on a hoist, other are pretty much the same just might have to remove one or two more brackets.

alright so if i went to a local auto shop and they put all new motor mounts in, how much would that cost me?

---------- Post added at 01:51 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:51 PM ----------


This is a REAL bad motor mount....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PHlIyxazKmY&feature=related

i dont see the problem....
















:D

fasfocus00
04-17-2011, 01:53 PM
a shop putting in new motor mounts will set you back ~$500-$1000 depending on the shop. that's just labor, add another $100-200 per mount.

Germ305
04-17-2011, 01:55 PM
alright so if i went to a local auto shop and they put all new motor mounts in, how much would that cost me?[COLOR="Silver"]

Shops raaape....id say for all of them...$400-$500

fasfocus00
04-17-2011, 01:58 PM
shops don't rape, they charge for their time, knowledge, and tools to actually do the job. maybe you should get your own tools and learn how to do it yourself. I have friends that are shop owners and they charge a good bit for their work. I side with shops on prices b/c if you want to complain about price, go buy the tools needed to do the work and than learn what you have to do as well as take the time out of your schedule to do it and see how much it cost.

Germ305
04-17-2011, 01:59 PM
shops don't rape, they charge for their time, knowledge, and tools to actually do the job. maybe you should get your own tools and learn how to do it yourself. I have friends that are shop owners and they charge a good bit for their work. I side with shops on prices b/c if you want to complain about price, go buy the tools needed to do the work and than learn what you have to do as well as take the time out of your schedule to do it and see how much it cost.

I guess i'm just used to fixing my own vehicle lol

fasfocus00
04-17-2011, 02:02 PM
to bad you ain't local to me, I have an engine hoist you could borrow to do this. probably got all the other tools too.