PDA

View Full Version : X-Over on Head Unit or Amp?



pn15
04-14-2011, 06:49 AM
Which should I use? The HU has slope adjustment. System is simple, just front coaxes and a sub.

disturbed471985
04-14-2011, 06:51 AM
Wish my HU had a good selection of x-overs but it dosent and I am forced to use my amps.. OP if ur HU has the ability then I would use it if not then use your amps.

pn15
04-14-2011, 06:53 AM
The next question is: My front coaxes are 6.5s so what should I cross them over at? The sub is a 10". Is overlap bad?

disturbed471985
04-14-2011, 06:55 AM
Depends on what 6.5's you have but a good starting point would be around 60hz. I dont think alil over lap is bad.

pn15
04-14-2011, 06:58 AM
Depends on what 6.5's you have but a good starting point would be around 60hz. I dont think alil over lap is bad.

I was thinking >60 for the 6.5s also, maybe <80 for the sub.

disturbed471985
04-14-2011, 07:00 AM
Sounds good. My sub does 30-100 my 6.5's do 55-5000 and tweets do 1500 on up.

pn15
04-14-2011, 07:05 AM
Hmm, I might try that as well. Playing the sub <100 could warm things up a bit. Thanks for the help.

disturbed471985
04-14-2011, 07:14 AM
Some dont like to play that high. Alot try and keep it under 80 but 100 seems to be my number sounds great to me atleast and really thats all that matters.