PDA

View Full Version : Stock head unit to amp



afplayboy18
03-28-2011, 06:45 PM
i have a 2011 Mustang GT and i have an old amp/sub sitting in my garage that id like to put into the car.

for now, i dont wanna change the deck out so im looking at going from stock head unit to amp...

am i going to need something like the JL Cleansweep to go inbetween the stock deck and amp or can i plug the amp directly into the deck...ive never hooked up to a stock deck before, ive always had aftermarket.

would it be best to just wait and go aftermarket instead???

i have an Fi Q12 going with a Kicker 1500.1

ETA: will be adding some Focal 5x7s all around later on powered by probaby a kicker like in my sig....if i do that will that impact what i need now or can i just add that later???

AJM511
03-28-2011, 06:49 PM
I'm pretty sure you can use the stock speaker wires to get an audio signal to the amp.

---------- Post added at 05:49 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:49 PM ----------

heres an example: JL Audio XB-CLRAIC2-SW - RCA to Speaker Wire (http://www.google.com/products/catalog?client=safari&rls=en&q=speaker+wire+to+rca&oe=UTF-8&um=1&ie=UTF-8&cid=6050342512532482367&sa=X&ei=ahCRTbiGB4yssAOVqOWhDg&ved=0CB8Q8wIwAA#ps-sellers)

afplayboy18
03-28-2011, 06:56 PM
and there would be no problem with distortion or level of sound coming from the deck to the amp??

d77543020
03-29-2011, 10:32 PM
the cheapest way is to get a nice hi low converter and run the signal in to a nice eq or line driver but if you got the cash a clean sweep,or rockford 360 would be better

afplayboy18
03-30-2011, 01:49 AM
i went with a truck located line out converter...read good reviews with it so i figure i'll try it.