PDA

View Full Version : 4 ch. head unit to 5 ch. amp.



BigAlsBro
03-16-2011, 03:29 PM
I know this is a novice question, but is there a safe way to run a 4 x 50 watt head unit w/ 2 sets of pre-outs to a 5 ch. amp. -
(4 x 100 + 200 sub. in) without overheating the (head unit) ?
Thanks ahead !

whitedragon551
03-16-2011, 03:39 PM
Your headunit wont over heat, but if your running 5 channels you need 2 preouts for stereo output up front, 2 for output in the rear, and 2 for the sub. 4 =/= 6. You can use splitters, but I wouldnt. You will lose your left right fade or front rear fade depending on how you set them up.

BigAlsBro
03-16-2011, 04:04 PM
Your headunit wont over heat, but if your running 5 channels you need 2 preouts for stereo output up front, 2 for output in the rear, and 2 for the sub. 4 =/= 6. You can use splitters, but I wouldnt. You will lose your left right fade or front rear fade depending on how you set them up.

If I dont mind losing my balance (left right fade) how would I accomplish this using RCA splitters -
Would I still have fade (front-rear) ?
What is the downside, other than the no balance ?
Thanks

BigAlsBro
03-19-2011, 02:17 PM
Anybody else ???

trumpet
03-19-2011, 07:21 PM
Split the rear RCA at the amp so it supplies signal to both the rear channels and the subwoofer channel.

AVX Mike
04-27-2011, 06:55 PM
Most 5 channels should have a switch to choose external or internal input for channel 5. Flip the switch to internal or that manufactures version. If not read the amps manual, they typically include wiring diagrams for a variety of applications.

BlactimusCrime
04-27-2011, 07:16 PM
buy an active crossover :fyi: