PDA

View Full Version : Haha.. I Should Know This By Now.. (623Posts)



n0ftInc
02-09-2004, 06:12 PM
Alright, I was thinking about buying a component set. Here is an example to help me figure this out.

So a 2-Way set says 100wts RMS. Does this mean I should look for an amp rated at 100x2 to run them, or since there is 4 speakers, should I look for 200x2..?

I feel so ashamed.. :crap:

nweibley
02-09-2004, 06:14 PM
100x2. The crossover for the components will direct the signal where it needs to go.

n0ftInc
02-09-2004, 06:30 PM
Alright, next question..

Orion 2002..
2 x 50 watts @ 4 Ohm
2 x 100 watts @ 2 Ohm
1 x 200 watts @ 4 Ohm

Components..
RMS: 100W
Impedance: 4Ohms

Would I be able to hook these up to get the 2 x 100 watts @ 2 Ohm..?
I can, can't I..?

paikiah
02-09-2004, 09:31 PM
yes, you can't. Same on you for asking such a noob question.

On another note, 50w+ RMS (orion amps should be under rated) is more than enough for a lot of comps, 50w will get mighty loud.

n0ftInc
02-18-2004, 03:14 PM
Wait..
..So there is no way I can send out 100 x 2 to a set of 4Ohm componets? Even if I connected them in a 2Ohm load?
http://www.rockfordfosgate.com/rftech/wiringwizard/2_4ohmSVC_2ohm.gif

BooLeaN
02-18-2004, 07:18 PM
you would get a 2 ohm load for 1 channel if you wired them like that. so you would get 100 X 1 and 0 X 1 because you wouldn't have a speaker hooked upto the other channel.