PDA

View Full Version : Need Some EQ Opinions!



Bettr n' Revrse
03-03-2011, 06:33 AM
Looking around at EQs to go active with the next setup and I found one that I like... Its a Clarion so not anything amazing but they are cheaper, look nice, and has control over many smaller frequency ranges not just a couple controls with wide ranges... So I wanna here what you guys think of them? and throw me suggestions as well since Im a newb in EQ's

Heres a pic and a link of the Clarion Im talking about... Clarion EQS746 7-Band Rotary Equalizer/EQ (EQS-746) (http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_6655_Clarion-EQS746.html)
http://memimage.cardomain.com/ride_images/2/4278/2721/23193860040_large.jpg



Also I was looking around and found this to be kinda funny...
http://www.massiveaudio.com/store/image.php?type=T&id=16204
Thats a Massive Audio EQ ^^^^^^^ Looks kinda familiar huh? The Massive is double the price so can anyone tell me the difference? Heres a link to the Massive... Massive Audio*::*Equalizers*::*EQ 7- Car Audio Equalizer (http://www.massiveaudio.com/store/product.php?productid=16204&cat=261&page=1)

Thanks for the help guys

whitedragon551
03-03-2011, 12:51 PM
Id go with an external crossover. There is a new in box old school Cadence crossover on eBay. Ill find it when I get home.

Bettr n' Revrse
03-03-2011, 03:37 PM
Id go with an external crossover. There is a new in box old school Cadence crossover on eBay. Ill find it when I get home.

Why is that? What are the differences with an external crossover and an EQ?

Bettr n' Revrse
03-04-2011, 02:41 AM
Nothing?

Rich B
03-04-2011, 02:45 AM
Why is that? What are the differences with an external crossover and an EQ?

The crossovers in lower priced EQ's usually are low pass (sub) only, with no high pass for the mids.

dragnix
03-04-2011, 02:46 AM
Nothing?

There's a difference, but I don't see why he's suggesting using a xover vs. an eq. But wait, you are using the EQ to go active with, what are you going to use as your xover though? I ask because i'm not sure if that's what you're intending to do with the EQ. Not to make it sound like you don't know what you're doing, but just weird you didn't mention xovers and you're talking about going active.

With all that being said, I personally would get a parametric equalizer since it gives you more option as far as frequencies go and you get to determine the band of frequencies equalized. Look into Soundstream, they have some parametric EQ for around the same price as that Clarion. However, i've never used either of them so idk how good they are lol.

Bettr n' Revrse
03-04-2011, 02:50 AM
Well Idk if you could call it going active realy... I was just gunna run my mids and tweets separate on my alpine in the sig

dragnix
03-04-2011, 02:51 AM
The clarion is a graphic equalizer right? Just wanna make sure because I didn't want to have a 2nd paragraph with false info lol

dragnix
03-04-2011, 02:52 AM
Well Idk if you could call it going active realy... I was just gunna run my mids and tweets separate on my alpine in the sig
that's going active. However, how do you plan on crossing the speakers? You can't just run them full range, and you certainly don't want to just high pass the mids and the tweets

Bettr n' Revrse
03-04-2011, 02:55 AM
that's going active. However, how do you plan on crossing the speakers? You can't just run them full range, and you certainly don't want to just high pass the mids and the tweets

Heres the controls on the Alpine...
http://images.sonicelectronix.com/images/164305/big/mrpf250.jpg

I was just gunna turn the filters to off?

dragnix
03-04-2011, 02:57 AM
Heres the controls on the Alpine...
http://images.sonicelectronix.com/images/164305/big/mrpf250.jpg

I was just gunna turn the filters to off?

I wouldn't do that since you'd just be running the speakers full range. Get some coaxials for that :fyi:

Bettr n' Revrse
03-04-2011, 03:01 AM
I wouldn't do that since you'd just be running the speakers full range. Get some coaxials for that :fyi:

Even if I ran it on the EQ? I thought that was the point so I could control what fregeuncies I ran to each speaker (sub, mid, and tweet) seperatly? Why would I run coaxials on it?

dragnix
03-04-2011, 03:02 AM
Amazon.com: Lanzar OPTIX3B Optidrive 3 Way Electronic Crossover Network with Remote Bass Boost Level Control: Electronics (http://www.amazon.com/Lanzar-OPTIX3B-Optidrive-Electronic-Crossover/dp/B000CHRJFK/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1299221990&sr=8-1)

you can get that as an active xover. The only problem is people were saying with a 12db/octave slope, there might be a problem in blending the mids and subs together well enough. I have one and I think i'll just go ahead and high pass the mids at the amp also to create a steeper slope. It might take a bit of tuning but should come out okay. I'm not really that much of an SQ guy nor do I claim to be, so it wont' take much to satisfy my ears lol.

dragnix
03-04-2011, 03:02 AM
Amazon.com: Lanzar OPTIX3B Optidrive 3 Way Electronic Crossover Network with Remote Bass Boost Level Control: Electronics (http://www.amazon.com/Lanzar-OPTIX3B-Optidrive-Electronic-Crossover/dp/B000CHRJFK/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1299221990&sr=8-1)

you can get that as an active xover. The only problem is people were saying with a 12db/octave slope, there might be a problem in blending the mids and subs together well enough. I have one and I think i'll just go ahead and high pass the mids at the amp also to create a steeper slope. It might take a bit of tuning but should come out okay. I'm not really that much of an SQ guy nor do I claim to be, so it wont' take much to satisfy my ears lol.

Bettr n' Revrse
03-04-2011, 03:05 AM
Hmmmm so confusing lol

Brian_smith06
03-04-2011, 03:13 AM
if you're going to run active you need something to control the xover points of everything.

for example my xover points are

sub up to 63hz
mids 63-4000hz
tweeters 4k and up


eq's dont do that

Bettr n' Revrse
03-04-2011, 03:17 AM
So whats the point of an EQ? what would I use to control crossover points?

subzero
03-04-2011, 03:17 AM
Heres the controls on the Alpine...
http://images.sonicelectronix.com/images/164305/big/mrpf250.jpg

I was just gunna turn the filters to off?


I wouldn't do that since you'd just be running the speakers full range. Get some coaxials for that :fyi:

OP -
You could- run the tweets on one set and the mids on another set and use the amps xover settings to set you xover parameters but it wont be as good as using a 3 or 4 way electronic xover unit.

The EQ usually has Front output / Rear output / Sub output...

So your talking about taking the front output and slpitting with a 'Y' splitter to the amp just so you can hope to stimulate an active setup. ok well good luck. Your going to need to be more percise than that. An electronic Xover will give you a way better control of the frequencies going to your amp. Then when you take your outputs from the xover and connect to the amp, it would probably be highs on channel 1,2 and mids on channel 3,4 And you would still need to run a sub amp .

The EQ will give you a better control when you use it in conjunction with all the above mentioned. Plus, most EQ's have a high voltage output on the RCA so instead of getting a .5V to 2V from the deck, then trying to power two amps, you could potentially have up to 10v preout. and that would be more efficient.

There is alot of things involved, but that should give you a better idea.

Bettr n' Revrse
03-04-2011, 03:23 AM
Huuuuuuu F*CK! Ill figure it out at some point

dragnix
03-04-2011, 03:26 AM
OP -
You could- run the tweets on one set and the mids on another set and use the amps xover settings to set you xover parameters but it wont be as good as using a 3 or 4 way electronic xover unit.

The EQ usually has Front output / Rear output / Sub output...

So your talking about taking the front output and slpitting with a 'Y' splitter to the amp just so you can hope to stimulate an active setup. ok well good luck. Your going to need to be more percise than that. An electronic Xover will give you a way better control of the frequencies going to your amp. Then when you take your outputs from the xover and connect to the amp, it would probably be highs on channel 1,2 and mids on channel 3,4 And you would still need to run a sub amp .

The EQ will give you a better control when you use it in conjunction with all the above mentioned. Plus, most EQ's have a high voltage output on the RCA so instead of getting a .5V to 2V from the deck, then trying to power two amps, you could potentially have up to 10v preout. and that would be more efficient.

There is alot of things involved, but that should give you a better idea.

Well xovers nowadays acts as line driver anyway so using an EQ for that is for naught. Of course I understand what you're trying to say here, just stating facts is all :D

OP, you have a lot more reading to do before you even think about going active. But once it clicks, it should be easy to understand.

Bassin Buick
03-04-2011, 03:28 AM
^^ THIS!!! My new EQ.

http://www.caraudio.com/forums/attachments/head-unit-classifieds/26523181d1299194927-fs-ft-ppi-deq230-graphite-img_0125-jpg

subzero
03-04-2011, 03:30 AM
Heres the controls on the Alpine...
http://images.sonicelectronix.com/images/164305/big/mrpf250.jpg

I was just gunna turn the filters to off?


Huuuuuuu F*CK! Ill figure it out at some point

Niqqa, check out this site and see what I am trying to say.


System Design Applications (http://www.audiocontrol.com/t34/21366/System-Design-Applications.html)

dragnix
03-04-2011, 03:30 AM
Huuuuuuu F*CK! Ill figure it out at some point

ok, here's my attempt to explain it.

Going active means you're ditching the passive crossovers and setting your own xover points and not having to rely on fixed xover points of the passives. The important thing to understand about active is that you need a function called bandpass. Which is cutting out frequencies that are too low and too high, this is generally done for the mids so that it would not play the frequencies that the sub and tweeters usually play at.

So for an active setup, you can have the sub lowpass at 80hz, the tweets highpass at 5khz, so then the mids need to play between 80 and 5khz. Then you need to bandpass the mids in between those frequencies. To do this, you would highpass at 80hz (or around there) and lowpass at 5khz (or around there).

I hope that explains it a bit. Then you'd need to learn about slope if you didn't know that already lol

dragnix
03-04-2011, 03:31 AM
^^ THIS!!! My new EQ.

http://www.caraudio.com/forums/attachments/head-unit-classifieds/26523181d1299194927-fs-ft-ppi-deq230-graphite-img_0125-jpg

that's a huge *****!!

Bettr n' Revrse
03-04-2011, 03:31 AM
Well xovers nowadays acts as line driver anyway so using an EQ for that is for naught. Of course I understand what you're trying to say here, just stating facts is all :D

OP, you have a lot more reading to do before you even think about going active. But once it clicks, it should be easy to understand.

Just like everything else with Audio... Could I just run my RCAs from my sub amp and high amp to this EQ while leaving the mids and tweets on the crossovers and possibly with them brideged on the alpine... would I get anything from doing this?

Bassin Buick
03-04-2011, 03:32 AM
that's a huge *****!! 5x16.5"

subzero
03-04-2011, 03:33 AM
^^ THIS!!! My new EQ.

http://www.caraudio.com/forums/attachments/head-unit-classifieds/26523181d1299194927-fs-ft-ppi-deq230-graphite-img_0125-jpg

I wish I had room for something like that.

Bassin Buick
03-04-2011, 03:34 AM
I wish I had room for something like that.i don't. LOL. but i will make it fit in somewhere , i guarantee that.

subzero
03-04-2011, 03:35 AM
System Design Applications (http://www.audiocontrol.com/t34/21366/System-Design-Applications.html)

dragnix
03-04-2011, 03:36 AM
Just like everything else with Audio... Could I just run my RCAs from my sub amp and high amp to this EQ while leaving the mids and tweets on the crossovers and possibly with them brideged on the alpine... would I get anything from doing this?
Well just run everything to the EQ and EQ out your music. You dont' have to use the xover on the EQ. But if you're going active then just buy an xover instead of an EQ.

Bettr n' Revrse
03-04-2011, 03:36 AM
Thanks for all the help guys Im gunna go back to reading lol

subzero
03-04-2011, 03:36 AM
System Design Applications (http://www.audiocontrol.com/t34/21366/System-Design-Applications.html)

OP I am posting this site so you can see what and how involved it can get going active. check it out.

dragnix
03-04-2011, 03:36 AM
i don't. LOL. but i will make it fit in somewhere , i guarantee that.

if i could fit an 18" in a civic trunk, you can fit that **** somewhere in your car.

Bettr n' Revrse
03-04-2011, 03:38 AM
System Design Applications (http://www.audiocontrol.com/t34/21366/System-Design-Applications.html)

OP I am posting this site so you can see what and how involved it can get going active. check it out.

Ya I kept missing it when I posted lol... thanks man

Bassin Buick
03-04-2011, 03:39 AM
if i could fit an 18" in a civic trunk, you can fit that **** somewhere in your car. well , the buick is getting sold this month and i'm looking at a 97 camry that a buddy has. I'm thinking a custom piece that fits over the e brake section of the center console with this flush mounted in it. I live in florida. There is really no use for an e brake here. LOL.

subzero
03-04-2011, 03:43 AM
well , the buick is getting sold this month and i'm looking at a 97 camry that a buddy has. I'm thinking a custom piece that fits over the e brake section of the center console with this flush mounted in it. I live in florida. There is really no use for an e brake here. LOL.

dude. that wasnt ment to be a indash eq fool. If you put that **** within arms reach, you will always be ******* with it and never gain the advenage cuz youll always be second guessing it and ****...

Bettr n' Revrse
03-04-2011, 03:44 AM
well , the buick is getting sold this month and i'm looking at a 97 camry that a buddy has. I'm thinking a custom piece that fits over the e brake section of the center console with this flush mounted in it. I live in florida. There is really no use for an e brake here. LOL.

The hell there isnt, Grip the ***** out of that thing around a corner... ya they have a use hahaha

dragnix
03-04-2011, 03:44 AM
well , the buick is getting sold this month and i'm looking at a 97 camry that a buddy has. I'm thinking a custom piece that fits over the e brake section of the center console with this flush mounted in it. I live in florida. There is really no use for an e brake here. LOL.

yea you kinda do. When that old man in front of you decides to stop in the middle of the street because his nav told him to, you'd be fucked w/o the e-brake

Bassin Buick
03-04-2011, 03:48 AM
yea you kinda do. When that old man in front of you decides to stop in the middle of the street because his nav told him to, you'd be fucked w/o the e-brakeumm....no. Thats not what a e brake is for. You lock up your back brakes at high speed and you lose control in a situation like that. LOL. I like the grip it and whip it idea though. :evil:

Bettr n' Revrse
03-04-2011, 03:50 AM
umm....no. Thats not what a e brake is for. You lock up your back brakes at high speed and you lose control in a situation like that. LOL. I like the grip it and whip it idea though. :evil:

As far as Im concerned its the most fun you can have with your clothes on...

Bassin Buick
03-04-2011, 03:53 AM
As far as Im concerned its the most fun you can have with your clothes on... the rear end should swing well once the trunk is full of amps and subs and batteries. :evil: nah , i'm thinking i'm gonna go "small but big". Zed leviathan , dcons , sb acoustics mids and tweets. Active. Subs/Amp Flush mounted into the spare well so there is still grocery room.

Bettr n' Revrse
03-04-2011, 03:55 AM
the rear end should swing well once the trunk is full of amps and subs and batteries. :evil: nah , i'm thinking i'm gonna go "small but big". Zed leviathan , dcons , sb acoustics mids and tweets. Active. Flush mounted into the spare well so there is still grocery room.

Stealin my Motto now huh lol

Brian_smith06
03-04-2011, 06:35 PM
^^ THIS!!! My new EQ.

http://www.caraudio.com/forums/attachments/head-unit-classifieds/26523181d1299194927-fs-ft-ppi-deq230-graphite-img_0125-jpg

Now you need a second one! One for left one for right ;)