PDA

View Full Version : Bad RCA Outs?



SilverLade
02-02-2011, 07:55 PM
Hey guys I have a pioneer DEH-3200UB headunit in my truck. I am currently installing an amp for my mids and highs, my question is if I have bad rca outputs? The back of the deck has 4 rca's in total 2 for subwoofer and 2 for front output, well I had to buy some Y cables for the 2 front outputs because I'm running a 4 channel amp and with the Y cables installed and brand new rca's when I connect them to the amp it goes into protection mode? Well when I run rca's from the subwoofer rca to the amp it works fine. So is it bad rca jacks or something else? Any suggestions and help would be much appreciated!! Thanks in advance!!

SilverLade
02-02-2011, 11:59 PM
Anyone? This info would really help me out!!

azphat12
02-03-2011, 01:07 AM
Have you tried it without the Y cables?

Try to plug in 1 set of the front RCA's to 1 side of the amp. Then try the other side of the amp. Then try the other set of RCA's

Try to rule out if its the y cables, the rca's, or a specific side of the 4 channel amp.

SilverLade
02-03-2011, 01:21 AM
Thanks for the help man! I've tried EVERYTHING, no y cables, all the RCA's on the amp and it still does the same thing. All my stuff is brand new, the amp, all wiring, fuses etc... it's really a pain that I can't figure out what's wrong

azphat12
02-03-2011, 04:44 AM
You can try plugging the rca's into an Iphone or other type of player and bypass the head unit. See if the protect still comes on.

SilverLade
02-03-2011, 02:48 PM
I'll try that today for sure, i'm ready to get this headache out of the way!

Vossy
02-03-2011, 06:22 PM
Bad amp?