PDA

View Full Version : Options or opinions?



suicideking187
01-26-2011, 06:03 PM
Sorry for the doucher "what to do" post but im at a crossroads for which components to use. Ive been doin tons of research and have come up with a few viable options.

Image dynamics CTX65CS (was lookin at doin 2 sets if these)
Hertz ESK165/65L
Memphis 15-MCS6
JL Audio C2-650

They will be powered with a SAX-100.4D
They will be the FS with fill provided by an set of 4x6 of whichever company I go with on HU power
Depending on price there will probably be 2 sets up front otherwise Ill just power the rears

Open to opinions or options, any help appreciated.

SicAudio
01-26-2011, 06:10 PM
I am a big fan of Hertz..

whitedragon551
01-26-2011, 06:11 PM
ID CTX65CS or Eclipse SC6500's. Very similar quality and sound. Id put them over everything you have listed. The Hertz are good, but more expensive for a non existent quality and SQ upgrade.

suicideking187
01-26-2011, 06:32 PM
Really? Ive read good reviews on the hertz but they def seem to be a cult brand, lots of theyre the be all end all kinda things. Ive read tons of great reviews on the ID's and they are the most affordable which was surprising. They look to be built pretty hefty and my biggest things is I dont want a horribly bright tweet however my music tastes vary from lamb of god to young jeezy to bob marley so I need a well rounded and clear set and ive read they have a pretty decent mid bass sound which is a plus.

Slayerx
01-26-2011, 06:35 PM
Save some cash and get the CTX's, and use that extra $ to do an even better install.

suicideking187
01-26-2011, 07:38 PM
1 or 2 sets, ive got the cash now just makin sure im 100% on what I want, dont like buying thigs twice if i dont have too ;)

suicideking187
01-26-2011, 07:40 PM
oh as in save the money over the more expensive, roger, misunderstood for a sec. But you think 1 set will perform or should I get two, theyll be going in an 05 single cab silverado

okiedokie
01-27-2011, 01:49 AM
^^^^^^ unless you are looking for extremely loud,1 cmp set should be enough on that sundown.
look into your install.if you place those tweeters in the pillars on axis or until get a good sound stage you should bhe loud enough.
you can use that amp to bi-amp those ID comps.
add deadener,placement & aiming,tuning,EQ if you have one,etc.......

suicideking187
01-27-2011, 02:22 AM
OK, so should i bridge the 4 channel or get the sundow 2x125 instead? what eq would you recommend?

suicideking187
01-27-2011, 09:21 PM
any more info bump

6.5LDiesel
01-27-2011, 09:33 PM
I personally own the image dynamic speakers you listed and wouldn't bargain with them for ANYTHING...

suicideking187
01-27-2011, 11:22 PM
hmm, thats seems to be a common feeling which is good :D any input on an eq to pair up with the above set up? im new to the whole full setup, so no real expierience with an eq/processor

SicAudio
01-27-2011, 11:30 PM
a good deck will negate the need for an eq...

suicideking187
01-27-2011, 11:31 PM
entirely? you dont think it would be worthwhile to get an eq?

suicideking187
01-27-2011, 11:31 PM
I have a kenwood dbl din touch screen, not sure of model right now as im outta state but its like 2 mnths old

SicAudio
01-27-2011, 11:44 PM
most decks have at least a decent eq... anything with at least 5 bands is sufficient for most people...

I have 8 bands dual channel on 1 of my Pioneers and only 7 on the rest and they are more than adequate...

suicideking187
01-28-2011, 02:37 AM
hmm, ok wo then just 1 set, with either the sax-100.4 bridged to 2ch or the sax-125.2 on HU eq?

SicAudio
01-28-2011, 02:44 AM
i wouldn't bridge the amp to run mids... you lose all your imaging

their is a way to do it by switching rcas around but its better to just buy the power you need...

suicideking187
01-29-2011, 03:19 AM
ok so the 125.2? or should i get the 100.4 and just use 2 channels and have the 2 in case i go for the second set of comps up front?

Mitch86
01-29-2011, 03:24 AM
ok so the 125.2? or should i get the 100.4 and just use 2 channels and have the 2 in case i go for the second set of comps up front?

That sounds like a good plan. If one set isnt good enough for you, you always have the power there in case you need it. Other wise you're only gaining 25 watts on the comps and lose the ability to add a second set. But if your budget is tight the 125.2 is a better choice I guess. Really depends on if you think you need it extremely loud or if one set of comps will do.

Bob Saget
01-29-2011, 03:27 AM
Multiple usernames are bad, Dylan. :nono:

Trancer
01-29-2011, 09:07 PM
i wouldn't bridge the amp to run mids... you lose all your imaging

their is a way to do it by switching rcas around but its better to just buy the power you need...

I dont see how bridging a 4 channel amp for a pair of components loses your imaging. I was bridging Channels 1 & 2 for the drivers side and Channels 3&4 for the passenger side. Y adapter for Channels 1 and 2 and a Y Adapter for Channels 3 and 4. Left goes to left and right goes to right. So Im confused in your posting.

320 watts per side of my Focal Utopia Components.

suicideking187
01-29-2011, 09:30 PM
OK thats pretty much the thought process I had (getting the 100.4) so I think Ill do that, start with one set of comps and the 4 ch and then if i want to add the 6.5 ID midbass or the 2nd set of comps im covered, no i just gotta get my sub design together and ill start ordering. Thanks for all the help so far

SicAudio
01-29-2011, 09:42 PM
I dont see how bridging a 4 channel amp for a pair of components loses your imaging. I was bridging Channels 1 & 2 for the drivers side and Channels 3&4 for the passenger side. Y adapter for Channels 1 and 2 and a Y Adapter for Channels 3 and 4. Left goes to left and right goes to right. So Im confused in your posting.

320 watts per side of my Focal Utopia Components.

their is a way to do it by switching rcas around but its better to just buy the power you need...



how do you quote someone and not READ what you are quoting?

SicAudio
01-29-2011, 09:44 PM
he can also bi amp if he uses a 4 channel with the right mids :fyi:...

ie: buy the power you need...

Trancer
01-29-2011, 10:50 PM
their is a way to do it by switching rcas around but its better to just buy the power you need...



how do you quote someone and not READ what you are quoting?

Really????????? You dont think I dont know wtf I typed out? I know, because I was the one typing it. You are simply telling the guy its not a good idea to go with a 4 channel amp and bridging it into a 2 channel amp. Plus, it gives him more flexibility incase he wants to upgrade and amp his rear speakers.

4 channel amp: bridge = double power
2 channel amp: not bridged: 4 ohm power.

Pretty simple

SicAudio
01-29-2011, 10:56 PM
wow way to turn his thread into a pissing contest dude...

if he has to ask what to do in the 1st place, he would just get lost trying to tell him how to do the y-split channel swap dude..

you think i don't know? maybe if you had read you woulda saw exactly what i said, and I never said not to do it... I said I wouldn't do it

big difference..

and i never said it was a bad idea either or not a good idea...

he asked for opinions and I gave mine you gave yours but made it seem like I am wrong when neither of us is "wrong"...















the amount of E-Peen on this forum is staggering...

Trancer
01-29-2011, 11:10 PM
To be honest, I dont know what "Switching up the RCA's" mean. I was simply breaking it down for him to understand and you turned it into a pissing contest with the whole, "how do you quote someone and not READ what you are quoting?" comment. Im done. I was simply helping the guy understand what "Switching up the RCA's" meant. That simple. I read between your lines and knew what you meant, alot of people dont. If he is asking about it, then he more than likely wouldnt grasp the whole, "Switching up the RCA's" For all he knows, he thinks he may have to go buy all new special magic RCA's

SicAudio
01-29-2011, 11:14 PM
ok my bad then we just misunderstood each other.. no biggie

I can delete my posts if that will make it all better ;)

Trancer
01-29-2011, 11:53 PM
Its all good bro

SicAudio
01-29-2011, 11:57 PM
right on ;)

suicideking187
01-30-2011, 12:05 AM
lol wow, all this hosility, I do know some things, so i understood the switching the rcas, or well enough to make it work, and i et both points on the 2 ch and 4 and just agree that its prolly best to buy the 4, only use 2 as to not have to rewire them later and then if i choose not to put in the mid bass or second comps to then bridge and double power the front comps.

SicAudio
01-30-2011, 12:12 AM
you can also bi amp it if you get a 4channel...

suicideking187
01-30-2011, 04:10 AM
as in run the 4ch and then get a 2 ch?

Bob Saget
01-30-2011, 04:11 AM
I wouldn't take car audio advice from a man obsessed with Maxxsonics amplifiers. :fyi:

suicideking187
01-30-2011, 05:52 AM
as opposed to bob saget?, or a completely non related response? although he might be brand loyal hes been 1000% more helpfull than that lol