PDA

View Full Version : Do i need to install whole new headunit or can I just replace faceplate?



kickasspats
12-18-2010, 11:02 PM
Ok so to start off, I am good with electronics, but I am a noob at car audio. I bought a car and with it was an Alpine CDE-9873 headunit. It's an older model and has no auxillary port or usb port. I want to buy a new stereo and I'm wondering, if i got a similar Alpine faceplate, such as: an Alpine CDE-100 (Alpine - 50W x 4 In-Dash CD Deck with Detachable Faceplate - CDE-100 (http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Alpine+-+50W+x+4+In-Dash+CD+Deck+with+Detachable+Faceplate/9438076.p?id=1218117978216&skuId=9438076)) or even a CDE-130 (Alpine - 50W x 4 Apple iPod-Capable In-Dash CD Deck with MP3 Playback - CDE-103BT (http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Alpine+-+50W+x+4+Apple+iPod-Capable+In-Dash+CD+Deck+with+MP3+Playback/9763949.p?id=1218169465245&skuId=9763949)). So if i were to buy one of these faceplate only, would i be able just to slide it into my exisiting head unit? or do i have to install a new one no matter what? And in that case should i invest in a better stereo?

Thanks.

daboyfrumdabx
12-18-2010, 11:51 PM
Just below the picture of your radio on this page (http://www.crutchfield.com/p_500CDE9873/Alpine-CDE-9873.html?tp=5684&tab=other_items) there's a PAC ipod adapter. It should allow you to play your ipod through the deck without replacing the deck. Shop around, you should be able to find it cheaper. Also keep in mind that deck plays mp3 CDs so that may be a route that interests you. However, you can't just put a faceplate from another deck on your unit and expect it to magically gain functions because it has more buttons now.

kickasspats
12-18-2010, 11:55 PM
Just below the picture of your radio on this page (http://www.crutchfield.com/p_500CDE9873/Alpine-CDE-9873.html?tp=5684&tab=other_items) there's a PAC ipod adapter. It should allow you to play your ipod through the deck without replacing the deck. Shop around, you should be able to find it cheaper. Also keep in mind that deck plays mp3 CDs so that may be a route that interests you. However, you can't just put a faceplate from another deck on your unit and expect it to magically gain functions because it has more buttons now.

Haha thanks. I forgot to say that I already tried the PAC ipod adapter. It doesn't work with that faceplate and iPod Touchs 2g.. and I use CD's but thats one of the reasons why i wanted a new one. I'm tired of burning a ton a cd's when I could just plug in my ipod and have all my songs easily accesible.