PDA

View Full Version : Problems with pioneer headunit



jaywood
12-06-2010, 12:28 PM
I have a pioneer headunit, forgot the part number but its compatible with USB and headphone

When I run my iPod through the headphone jack, only the speakers on the right work. When I use the radio/USB port, both sides work. I used to be able to wiggle the cord plugging into my headphone jack, and both sides would work. This just recently stopped working...

So my question is, is there any way to fix that? If not, is there an adapter that connects headphone to USB?

I use my iPod shuffle which only has a headphone jack...

Thanks guys!

nateberrier
12-06-2010, 12:36 PM
try a new aux cable, mine always used to get bent up and quit working. if thats not the case and you have a shuffle, then throw it away and get another ipod

jaywood
12-06-2010, 12:43 PM
I already tried a new aux cable and it didn't work...so that's not it

I have an iPhone too (which I'm on right now) but when I plug it into the USB I can't use my phone anymore. It won't let me change the song from the phone/look through my library.. I can only change it from the buttons on the headunit which is annoying. Anyway around that?

happe626
12-06-2010, 12:54 PM
When trying to use AUX in only one side works correct? Is it left or right side?
When NOT using AUX, i.e Radio station / CD player, both channel (L+R) work?
How old is the Headunit and cable?

Have you tried to use that 3.5mm cord with any other devices? Home Theather or anything with AUX input. Over time, the 3.5mm male heads tend to stretch and break the wire contacts. (Thus wiggling sometimes bring them back together.)

For a test, you can open Windows Sound Recorder (under Program > Accessories.) and plug that into the MIC input so your ipod will output to the mic input.. This will test if the cord is bad. You can also wiggle it around to see if sound cuts off.

If the cord is bad then you can try to find a replacement cord at .99 cents store or

~$3 bucks
Amazon.com: Cables Unlimited AUD-1100-06 6-Feet 3.5MM Male to Male Stereo Cable: Electronics (http://www.amazon.com/Cables-Unlimited-AUD-1100-06-6-Feet-Stereo/dp/B000SE6IV8/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1291653236&sr=8-1)

or better quality ~ $8 bucks
Amazon.com: Belkin PureAV AV20601-06 6-Foot Mini-Stereo Audio Cable: Electronics (http://www.amazon.com/Belkin-PureAV-AV20601-06-6-Foot-Mini-Stereo/dp/B00026HZ1E/ref=sr_1_45?ie=UTF8&qid=1291653310&sr=8-45)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
If the cord isn't bad then you may have a extremely rare case that the input jack lost its contact.


*******************
scratch my suggestion.. since you already tried it.. (i type slow)

happe626
12-06-2010, 01:00 PM
I already tried a new aux cable and it didn't work...so that's not it

I have an iPhone too (which I'm on right now) but when I plug it into the USB I can't use my phone anymore. It won't let me change the song from the phone/look through my library.. I can only change it from the buttons on the headunit which is annoying. Anyway around that?

Since this is a specific question about the feature of your headunit. You are should find the MODEL# & read the MANUAL.

jaywood
12-06-2010, 01:24 PM
Part number: deh-p3100ub

Cord is new. Probably 2 weeks old. Headunit might be a couple years old. Not sure, PO put it in. I don't have the manual.

jaywood
12-07-2010, 02:16 AM
When I plug my iPhone into the usb cord coming out of the headunit, this is what my screen looks like:

http://i707.photobucket.com/albums/ww71/carbonfiberoptics/photo1-1.png

http://i707.photobucket.com/albums/ww71/carbonfiberoptics/photo-3.png

It won't let me search through songs on my phone. I have to change the song playing either from the remote for the headunit, or from the actual buttons on the headunit. Is there any way to get around that?

I tried it with a regular iPod nano, and it did the same thing.

Bassin Buick
12-07-2010, 12:26 PM
^^ what else is new? every one i've owned that was made in the digital age has been a pain. get a kenwood excelon or alpine and call it a day.