PDA

View Full Version : quick q bout types of port



Matador
01-28-2004, 07:13 PM
ok, since no one seems to answer longer question, i 'll ask one short simple one

is there any diff between a round port and square port? ie: port noise, blah
bcae1.com seems to me to be better when giving round port calculations

Omarvelous
01-29-2004, 01:45 AM
Loudspeakers101.com <~~~ Info you need

Matador
01-29-2004, 03:19 PM
coo thanks. i ll read that once i get some time to do somethign else besides studying.

ngsm13
01-29-2004, 04:22 PM
i personally would always rather go with a slot port or square/rectangular port. Gives less chance of port noise, and give more port area which is helpful in getting louder if ever competing. peace

NG

Trixter
01-29-2004, 06:46 PM
The only round ports I really like are the precision port. Other than that go with slot.

Matador
01-30-2004, 01:16 PM
i would really like to go slotted, but no one is helpin me out on the dimensions for it so i cna't do much. tried bcae1.com, but numbers dont seem right. n other ppl have told me the same thing.
winisd seems complicated as i need to put in all the TS parameters, and in the RE site they dont give out too many.

it's a ported box to 30hz for 1 12'' HC (1.9cu) and one for 2 12'' HCs (~5.0)

if anyone can help me out, please send me a pm. i would really appreciate it.

Trixter
01-31-2004, 09:39 AM
If your just looking for the dimensions to make the slot tuned to 30Hz, really you don't need to have all the info. for the sub. In fact you don't even have to use that sub. Box tuning is done by the box and has nothing to do with the sub.

If you have the dimensions of the box you want to use I can help you out. If you don't have the dimension but know how much room you have available, let me get that and I'll help ya out.

Matador
01-31-2004, 02:08 PM
hey trixter, tried to send u a pm but ur box is full. i m just gonna post i here n hoepefully u see this one

'hey, sup. hopefully u can help me. If it's not too much trouble i need dimensions for 2 boxes. i am making a single ported 12'', and a ported for dual 12s

for single
i need ~1.9cu feet after displacement, dis is what i got from winisd
box of 31''x14''x13'' (wxhxl) for 2.454cu feet internally
box tuned to 30hz, win isd gives me 23.59 for a vent match of 0.06. and displacement for port is 0.328, which brings me down to 2.122cu feet
does this look right? also, since my box is 13'' deep, n it asks me for a 23.59 inch deep, then if i substract the 0.16 from the sub displace ment (12'' HC) it brings me down to 1.96''


this seems like a lot of info, so i better stop here. i am still thinkin of whether doing some glassin for the dual 12s or not, but for hte 10 would definitely be mdf.

http://www.angelfire.com/falcon/matador/images/single12.jpg


thanks for your help man, i really appreciated.

Matador
01-31-2004, 03:43 PM
actually number are a bit different now. box is 30x14x13.5 for 2.474cu feet.
i get 13x2x25.36, sounds right?
still check that link tho please