PDA

View Full Version : Just purchased a Pioner DEH-P890BTused and its skipping



Astaldoath
11-05-2010, 10:29 PM
It will skip when the car is sitting still if its cold. I havent tested it enough to be 100% its the cold.

I noticed today after driving around for 30 minutes and then playing cds once the cabin was semi warm the cds did not skip unless I hit a bump (it skips easy if I hit a bump)

Im wondering is the unit faulty and should I demand a refund?

The guy wants me to send it to a shop up here in PA that did work on electronics for him before and said he will try to split the shipping.

Should I do this or should I just tell him I want a refund because the unit is not working properly.

Or is it possible the cold is just causing problems. I dont mean freezing cold either. I mean like 30-40F

matt_bennett05
11-05-2010, 10:32 PM
Heck if I would pay split shipping on a brand new item i just purchased! Idk about the newer pioneer units but from their new lineup they're on a downhill slope in quality to me (and looks!)

Astaldoath
11-05-2010, 10:59 PM
Its an older unit it was like 2005 series I believe. Im not even sure if its JUST skipping, the music totally cut out for a good 5 seconds when i was sitting at a stop light and i wired this up personally and am sure Its wired correctly, i checked 2 times. Im gonna check again when I remove it. I plan on telling the guy I want a refund.

matt_bennett05
11-05-2010, 11:03 PM
What type of vehicle!??

matt_bennett05
11-05-2010, 11:03 PM
I had the same unit and loved it actually now that I remember!

Astaldoath
11-05-2010, 11:06 PM
2005 sunfire

Astaldoath
11-05-2010, 11:07 PM
I think i forgot to tape off the 2 rear RCAs coming from the deck (they didnt come with covers) could those touching for an instant cause the sound to shut off.

Im running off the factory speakers so no amps are hooked up to the rcas or anything

matt_bennett05
11-05-2010, 11:10 PM
hmm... I never had the first problem out of mine and I had it for over 2 years in a single cab chevy (which was a toy basically).... no skips or anything... im not 100% sure... and don't want to be flamed for giving false info... bump

Astaldoath
11-05-2010, 11:25 PM
Would touching RCAs cause the music to short out even if they werent being used by an amp?

They plug right in to the deck and im used to the deck having the jacks in the back not a plug that plugs in with the RCAs coming out of it. If that was the case thought It should short out while on the radio.

Fck im gonna end up going out and taking it apart just to see if thats causing it, this always happens i cant fcking sleep if I dont know whats wrong with somthing i put together or installed ect..