PDA

View Full Version : MVH-8200BT subwoofer 50hz?



KMS
10-25-2010, 09:05 PM
There is a setting on this headunit to set the subwoofer hz but it doesn't go any lower then 50hz.................................. Anyway around this? :crap:

MONSONwarrior
10-25-2010, 09:07 PM
why are you crossing your sub over at 50hz? 80hz is generally where subs are set..

KMS
10-25-2010, 09:11 PM
My box is tuned at 30hz and would like it at that or "through" as my Kenwood had :/

KMS
10-25-2010, 10:11 PM
Wait a minute. I did a little googling but didn't read too much since I couldn't really find what I have in mind. I'm pretty new to car audio and don't know much about frequencies yet. My question is if I set my sub at 80hz does that mean it will play every frequency up to 80hz or does it mean that it will play every note 80hz and above?

I notice if I set my my HPF at 80hz it cuts out a lot of bass so I'm thinking it cuts off frequencies 1-79hz? I read that setting the sub at 100hz it will play everything above 100hz :\

chillin
10-25-2010, 10:16 PM
If your box is tuned to 30, set the high pass filter at 30. Everything higher than 30 will pass. Set the HU at 80. It is a low pass filter, everything lower than 80 will pass. Between the 2, your sub should play between 30 and 80.

KMS
10-25-2010, 10:23 PM
If your box is tuned to 30, set the high pass filter at 30. Everything higher than 30 will pass. Set the HU at 80. It is a low pass filter, everything lower than 80 will pass. Between the 2, your sub should play between 30 and 80.

HPF at 30? That definitely doesn't seem right. Everyone says 80-100 is where they have theirs. Plus this HU doesn't give me an option to set lower then 50hz on both LPF and HPF :\

MONSONwarrior
10-25-2010, 10:30 PM
Set the HU betwen 80-100, then set your subsonic filter on your amp at 30hz. This way you will roll off all of the frequencies below 30hz to protect your sub. After using these settings you'll play 30-80hz with the sub and roll off at a 24db slope which will make it blend nicely.

Vossy
10-25-2010, 10:38 PM
LPF = LOW PASS FILTER, allows frequencies below this number
HPF = High Pass Filter, allows frequencies above the number..
sub = lpf 80 hz is fine so it plays 0-80 if you don't have a subsonic filter

/thread

AllenH427
10-25-2010, 10:41 PM
LPF = LOW PASS FILTER, allows frequencies below this number
HPF = High Pass Filter, allows frequencies above the number..
sub = lpf 80 hz is fine so it plays 0-80 if you don't have a subsonic filter

/thread
The subsonic filter on your amp should be set to your box tuning. I recommend setting your lpf AND hpf both at the same number.. either at 80 or 100.

Vossy
10-25-2010, 10:45 PM
Not all amps have SSF. and if an amp is on LPF, HPF is worthless for that channel.

KMS
10-25-2010, 10:45 PM
With the kenwood I had, the bass hit a lot lower. But with this new HU it doesn't hit the lows as low as before. Same settings on the amp. Both headunits I have everything on flat, with bass boosters off. :\

MONSONwarrior
10-25-2010, 10:48 PM
With the kenwood I had, the bass hit a lot lower. But with this new HU it doesn't hit the lows as low as before. Same settings on the amp. Both headunits I have everything on flat, with bass boosters off. :\

you probably have different output voltages on the HU's so you'll have to go and reset your gain to match it.

KMS
10-25-2010, 10:49 PM
you probably have different output voltages on the HU's so you'll have to go and reset your gain to match it.

Both headunits have 4v preouts.

AllenH427
10-25-2010, 10:51 PM
Not all amps have SSF. and if an amp is on LPF, HPF is worthless for that channel.
Assuming the headunit has 3 sets of preouts, the sub preouts should be controlled by ONLY the LPF. The Front and Rear preouts for speakers should ONLY be affected by the HPF...
Just making it clear for the OP.
And OP, might as well try readjusting your gain.

MONSONwarrior
10-25-2010, 10:51 PM
does your HU have a sub level control?

Your first HU may have had all 4v of pre out when the sub level was flat and the new one may give 4v when the sub level is maxed out. My HU gives out full voltage with my sub control all the way up, so the gain gets set with it there and that's just how I control it, haven't clipped or stunk up a sub yet.

KMS
10-25-2010, 10:57 PM
Assuming the headunit has 3 sets of preouts, the sub preouts should be controlled by ONLY the LPF. The Front and Rear preouts for speakers should ONLY be affected by the HPF...
Just making it clear for the OP.
And OP, might as well try readjusting your gain.

Yes, I have it set like that with LPF for the sub and HPF for the mids and highs. I had someone tune my amp for me and was great. Now with the new headunit it seems to have a little less bass. I'll play with the amp gain in the morning. So far I have the headunit HPF to off (set to around 100hz on the amp) and LPF set to 80hz on the headunit. Not sure what it's set at ont he amp. I believe 30hz (lowest it can go)

KMS
10-25-2010, 11:00 PM
does your HU have a sub level control?

Your first HU may have had all 4v of pre out when the sub level was flat and the new one may give 4v when the sub level is maxed out. My HU gives out full voltage with my sub control all the way up, so the gain gets set with it there and that's just how I control it, haven't clipped or stunk up a sub yet.

I haven't seen a sub control like my kenwood had. (pushed in knob, set between -15 to +15 for sub) However there is a little sub control in the same menu as the LPF. I think -6db to +6db. It's set at 0db now. If I turn it up I head the sub bottoming out.

MONSONwarrior
10-25-2010, 11:00 PM
if your LPF is 30hz on the amp that's your problem.. and don't "play" with the gain, just set it up with the DMM and make sure you're getting what you should be.

KMS
10-27-2010, 06:34 PM
Amp xover is set to around 70-80hz. Bass isn't as deep or loud as before. :|

KMS
11-03-2010, 04:34 PM
lawl

Bad_dude
11-05-2010, 09:24 PM
KMS,
Sorry to be a little off topic. Did you bypass your parking brake? If you did, did you have to use 2 relay switches or just one will do?
Thanks.

winkychevelle
11-06-2010, 12:56 AM
One relay or just a simple ground switch

Bad_dude
11-06-2010, 07:20 PM
One relay or just a simple ground switch

Simple ground switch? You mean a toggle switch where you connect the ground and the brake cable?
I used the relay switch but it does not work.
I got ground to 87+85, then remote blue to 86, then brake cable to 30. Is that how you have it? I also have another relay to turn on my amp which comes after with the remote and ground sharing b/w the 2 switches.
Thanks.

Bad_dude
11-06-2010, 08:47 PM
ok. Got it to work. So it's 87+86 ground.

GotSPL?
11-06-2010, 08:50 PM
Set it to 80hertz!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!