PDA

View Full Version : Hooking up 8ohm speakers to a 4ohm amp?



Imtjnotu
09-09-2010, 06:30 PM
besides giving less power is there any way this could ruin the amp...building my new comp set and alot of the speakers i like are either 8 or 6.5ohms i have a 2 channel autotek that does 130x2@4ohms

k_schutte
09-09-2010, 06:44 PM
You have a lot of posts to be asking such a newbee question... are you being a smart *** or do you seriously need to know?

and what speakers are you looking at that are 8ohm or 6.5ohm? 4ohm and 2ohm is like 95% of what I see in decent comps...

Scotty2Naughty
09-09-2010, 07:16 PM
it wouldn't ruin anything, just get less power

Imtjnotu
09-10-2010, 07:25 AM
You have a lot of posts to be asking such a newbee question... are you being a smart *** or do you seriously need to know?

and what speakers are you looking at that are 8ohm or 6.5ohm? 4ohm and 2ohm is like 95% of what I see in decent comps...no joke every set of comps ive bought have been brand names at either 2 or 4 ohms....i kno it puts out less power but i ddint kno how much less honestly i mean i could wire them in parallel but then i loose my time alignment....just wondering bro haha my bad