PDA

View Full Version : Have a problem. New HU wont even power on...



ClearSights
07-31-2010, 03:28 PM
Ok, So I did my HU install today and when I finished ( I think ). It wouldnt even power up after I turned on the car power...

Here is what it looks like...

Back of New HU

http://i1026.photobucket.com/albums/y330/CleaSights/0731101431-01.jpg

Inside Shelf...What are the two cords not in use??

http://i1026.photobucket.com/albums/y330/CleaSights/0731101432-01.jpg

The wire connecting...All of them are connected to the right color.

http://i1026.photobucket.com/albums/y330/CleaSights/0731101431-00.jpg

The Chime and Two Wires not connected...Mute and Antenna

http://i1026.photobucket.com/albums/y330/CleaSights/0731101431-02.jpg

Mess of wires...Anything wrong?
http://i1026.photobucket.com/albums/y330/CleaSights/0731101432-03.jpg


Everything

http://i1026.photobucket.com/albums/y330/CleaSights/0731101430-00.jpg


So, What does it look like I did wrong?? I can't find anything. Some help would be very useful. And keep in mind this is my first car audio project ever

Kross6622
07-31-2010, 03:37 PM
More then likely the red wire needs to be ran directly to a fuse that turns on when the car turns on. I had this porblem too. The power wire in the harness doesnt work for some cars. This was for my car (07 grandprix) and a 08 escape. Simply run wire from the fusebox that turns on when the car turns on. Then it should work fine.

ClearSights
07-31-2010, 03:45 PM
Yeah, The red wire was the only one that looked wrong because it was a slightly different shade of red. I have a 03 Grand Am. And where is this fusebox?

ClearSights
07-31-2010, 04:26 PM
Ok, And there is also a orange wire coming from the adaptor that is not connected to anything..

Kross6622
08-01-2010, 09:10 AM
orange does not need to be connected. and normally there is one under the hood and one on the inside. I know for my grand prix it was on the passanger side but you will have to find out. Should be in your owners manual. Look up which fuse does what and find one that starts when the car is started. Otherwise you will have to turn your radio on and off manually everytime..