PDA

View Full Version : Just bought CDT CL 61a

magic_wizard
01-17-2004, 06:36 PM
And hopefully the install will not be a headache. I know there are people on here who were able to fit them in their civic, so that gives me some hope.

bnbhoha
01-27-2004, 07:24 PM
I have a 97 civic and just finished installing these today. Took me 4 days to cut, drill and run wires (12 hours) What a pain in the Arse (I'm not an expert). If I had to do it again, I seriously wouldn't. The shop wanted $200 to install the speakers (cut out the plastic parts of the door and drill holes to run wire, but no install). I had to remove the door panels and use a jig saw to cut out the plastic and I couldn't get it perfect. I used putty to cover the holes around the speaker and put the factory grill on. The tweeters fit nice, but it took time to cut those holes as well. I am powering them with a USX2100 amp (100wx2).

They sound all right; I thought these were going to be the next best thing to sliced bread. Like I said, if I had to do it all over again, I would pass. I do get a satisfaction in knowing that I did everything myself. Good luck

p.s. by the way I used a 1 inch plastic spacer. You might want to try a half inch or 3/4 spacer first (MDF preferably). The bottom of my panel where the speaker is doesn't close/secure. I will have to drill a hole and screw it down on both sides

green_slip
01-27-2004, 07:43 PM
They sound all right; I thought these were going to be the next best thing to sliced bread.

What's wrong with them?? I bought some and they should be here soon. Should I send them back and get some Focal utopia's or what. I thought these speakers were awesome..let me know what you think. I would also consider getting the cl-hds i think from cdt.

slick rick
01-27-2004, 10:21 PM