PDA

View Full Version : Subs Ringing Problem



rmzsuzuki89
07-21-2010, 09:53 AM
I didn't know whether to put this in wiring or here, so here it is lol.

I just got my system up and running a lil while ago, now I have a problem. I had a Maxxlink in, but the subs were barely moving, though quite loud. I had the input level set correctly, and wired up just as the manual diagrammed.

So I decided to take it out and see how it would be with just 2 sets of strapped amps (4 SAZ-3000d's). I only have one set of rcas going back from the hu, so I got some rca splitters so I could get rcas to the other master amp. Now, I'm getting a ringing out of the subs, sounds almost like a 1000hz tone or something. The pitch also increases as I get on the throttle. I also have quite a bit less output than when the Maxxlink was in. So I've been doing a lil reading, and read somewhere here on the forums that splitters half the signal, and limit the tuning capabilities of the hu. Not something that I'm stating as fact, just something that I read.

So I just pulled the hu (Alpine iDa-X100) to see how many sub outs I have, and there is only one set.

So my question is, how should I go about my rca wiring in this situation?


Btw, sorry for the long *** post lol.

ramos
07-21-2010, 10:22 AM
12kw and it's not enough output? Good lord....... Sounds like your picking up alt whine. Check the resistance on your ground :)

rmzsuzuki89
07-21-2010, 10:42 AM
12kw and it's not enough output? Good lord....... Sounds like your picking up alt whine. Check the resistance on your ground :)

It still has a decent amount of output, just not near as much as before...And I will go out and do that now. Is that something that could be perfectly fine once second, then the next second be a problem?


I also found out that the splitters probably aren't the problem since I unhooked them and plugged the rca from the hu into one pair of amps and it still does it. But it only does it with the engine running, not with just the ignition, so the alt could be it like stated above.

rmzsuzuki89
07-21-2010, 11:56 AM
Well I tried adding a ground loop isolator, but the ringing was still there, even when I completely unplug the rcas at the hu. The subs on the passenger side are the ones ringing it seems. And there's a lil bit of a turn off pop.

ramos
07-21-2010, 12:03 PM
Hmmm , signs are pointing to the noise coming from the amps. You could try running each amp individually if possible to see if it's one amp in particular. :)

ramos
07-21-2010, 12:14 PM
What kind of electrical system you running in this monster? I'm wondering if low voltage might be partly to blame. :)

rmzsuzuki89
07-21-2010, 12:52 PM
Hmmm , signs are pointing to the noise coming from the amps. You could try running each amp individually if possible to see if it's one amp in particular. :)

I actually hooked the Maxxlink back up and the ringing s gone. The only problem is that there is no output now.


What kind of electrical system you running in this monster? I'm wondering if low voltage might be partly to blame. :)

And I have 10 runs of 1/0 from front to back, 9 Deka 9a31's, and one 240 amp alt for now until I get my 290 amp DC in, and 3 more to go with it.

ramos
07-21-2010, 12:57 PM
well low voltage shouldn't be an issue lol Double check the low pass crossover and the subsonic filter on the maxx link ? :)

rmzsuzuki89
07-21-2010, 01:41 PM
well low voltage shouldn't be an issue lol Double check the low pass crossover and the subsonic filter on the maxx link ? :)

I was just out there doing that and it is all exactly the same as before I took it out. I think that two of the subs aren't working. It's wired exactly the same as before too.

ramos
07-21-2010, 01:43 PM
Time to break out the dmm and see what's getting power and what isn't. :)

rmzsuzuki89
07-21-2010, 02:01 PM
Time to break out the dmm and see what's getting power and what isn't. :)

That's what I'm gonna do after I go to the gym and mow. I wanna just walk away from it for a lil bit, I'm having trouble thinking straight lol.

ramos
07-21-2010, 02:13 PM
I feel ya. I tend to troubleshoot for a certain amount of time. If I can't figure it out, I have to walk away a little while. :)

rmzsuzuki89
07-21-2010, 02:20 PM
I feel ya. I tend to troubleshoot for a certain amount of time. If I can't figure it out, I have to walk away a little while. :)

Yep, gotta have a lil time to clear your head...I have trouble stopping thinking about it though.

rmzsuzuki89
07-21-2010, 03:53 PM
Well, I think I got the output back that i had before taking out the Maxxlink. Not I just gotta get rid of the ringing when the Maxxlink isn't in. The ground loop isolator didn't do anything when I tried it, maybe I gotta go get a new one or something.