PDA

View Full Version : I've had enough! I'm going active!

emilimo701
07-12-2010, 03:06 AM
So I'm str8 thuggin in a '92 subaru :fro:

I replaced the stock speakers with some Alpine Type-R's.

My amp is giving them (up to) 180 watts RMS each. The R's are rated at 100w. I basically have them being pushed to their limits. And I'm not satisfied. Believe it or not, I'd like my music to be even louder! I was thinking of buying a get of JBL c608's so i can squeeze in an extra 50+ watts, but how much of a difference will 50% increase in power make? I realize that the laws of physics limit just how much power a 6-inch component set can handle, so i'm thinking that it might be time to delve into the art of fiberglassing and run multiple components in my frontstage.

So while a plan on doing this, why not just do the "audiophile" thing and build a completely active system, separating the amplification of each component?!?

I'm new to this hobby, so i'll probably have tons of questions that you on this forum will hopefully be willing to answer. Instead of creating new threads for each new question, I'll just keep everything here in one thread. Once I get started with the build, i'll switch over to the build log thread. But right now i'm in the planning stage. Had a long day at work so i'm hitting the hay. But i'll start off simple.........

What do you guys think... I want LOUDER, so is multiple speakers a good idea? or too over the top for a first project in a vehicle that might not last the summer?

:veryhapp:

fasfocus00
07-12-2010, 03:24 AM
so you really don't know what you're doing and you're gonna spend a lot of money on a sound products in a car that is junk? sounds like you need to learn some money management first than do some reading on car audio setups.

Mattd0344
07-12-2010, 03:24 AM
I think you got going active confused... read here

http://www.caraudio.com/forum/speakers/146726-active-vs-passive-attempt-me-explain.html