PDA

View Full Version : Couple of fiberglass door pod q's - small ones

way2sl0
07-03-2010, 10:15 PM
1) Is it worth me doing pods so I can make my mids on-axis? I run my tweets on axis as it is now, whereas the mids fire at my feet straight across.
2) Body filler - is it purely cosmetic? I could use thin then a thicker fabric layer that would hide most moderate imperfections - I am more after function than anything.
3) Do I need to countersink my driver? I don't have access to a router, and am wondering if I can just mount my driver on top of my mdf baffle.
4) Cloth vs Mat, whats the diff?
5) Can I use a cotton shirt instead of fleece for the initial stretch over the baffle?

Thanks for your help everyone.

nateberrier
07-04-2010, 01:18 AM
Im no expert but ill try to give you some answers

1. Pods are a great way to get some extra midbass and better imaging for your mids. Its worth it if you want to put in the work.
2. Body filler is cosmetic. Its difficult to get the exact shape and look with glass unless you intend on making a mold.
3. You do not need to countersink it, thats just cosmetic, My pods are not countersunk, though you could free hand it with a jig and a sander if youre decent with that sort of thing.
4. Mat is stronger than the cloth, if you hold a single piece of it you can tell its more rigid, its a little messier though.
5. You can use whatever you want really. Its just there to give you a base to start with. Fleece is used a lot because it will hold more resin. More resin makes for a stronger base and will dry faster.

galacticmonkey
07-05-2010, 04:41 AM
1) Is it worth me doing pods so I can make my mids on-axis? I run my tweets on axis as it is now, whereas the mids fire at my feet straight across.
Idk about that SQ bullshit.
2) Body filler - is it purely cosmetic? I could use thin then a thicker fabric layer that would hide most moderate imperfections - I am more after function than anything.