PDA

View Full Version : Active crossovers are eating my insides... Hope for passive?

DBz Hertz
06-25-2010, 08:54 PM
Ok, so the title is a little dramatic but, It's true. I've been an installer at Best Buy for a few years and have been MECP certified for the last two. I am very ashamed to say that I've only recently heard of active crossover setups. Unfortunately, that fact is eating me alive. I do want an active system someday but right now I DON'T UNDERSTAND ANY OF IT and I hate not understanding ****.

So basically, I don't feel as if I can responsibly dump money into active crossovers (although I want them), not to mention I only have a two channel and front comps. I just want a nice sounding system. So now to my question...

Having never heard an active crossover setup, is there hope for a quality sounding passive setup? As far as signal processing goes, I have only a few basic tools at my disposal. Those tools are a Kicker KQ9 equalizer, a set of Kicker QS components, and time correction on my Alpine CDA-117. Sadly that's it.

Please give me your advice. :crying:

fasfocus00
06-25-2010, 09:06 PM
Ok, so the title is a little dramatic but, It's true. I've been an installer at Best Buy for a few years and have been MECP certified for the last two. I am very ashamed to say that I've only recently heard of active crossover setups. Unfortunately, that fact is eating me alive. I do want an active system someday but right now I DON'T UNDERSTAND ANY OF IT and I hate not understanding ****.

So basically, I don't feel as if I can responsibly dump money into active crossovers (although I want them), not to mention I only have a two channel and front comps. I just want a nice sounding system. So now to my question...