PDA

View Full Version : Help on box for a 15" going in a '01 Gran Prix



n2audio
06-23-2010, 10:47 PM
Hey -
Stupidly I told my nephew I'd build him a box for his '01 GP.
Problem is the car's an hour away and I'd like to figure out dims w/o the car.

Sub is a Diamond D6. Volume will be around 3, maybe 3.5 cf net, or 4.0-4.5 gross.

Can someone provide me some semi-accurate dims that I will have to work with in this trunk?
If I can avoid a slanted face I will just build a rectangular box.

General external dims I have in mind right now are 16.5 x 13.5 x 41.

Will 41" fit between the trunk lid supports? If not i can probably build it a couple inches deeper to save on length.

thanks

n2audio
06-25-2010, 12:48 PM
aw c'mon!
Someone has to have a '97-'03 GP, a tape measure, and 5 mins.

All I really need to know is the max ht and max width I have to work with.

edit: found an old post saying a 16.5"H x 33"L box wouldn't fit w/o some sheet metal cutting. Hmmm...
I wonder if the 13.5D and 41"L would have a chance.

Bumpin' Goalie
06-25-2010, 12:55 PM
Call a Pontiac dealer and just say you need to know the dimensions so you will know if it can be usable for your "work equipment".

They'll think there could be a possible sale, they'll hustle on out there. Or just drive down to the dealership with a tape measure.

hatemonger
06-25-2010, 02:22 PM
it will be difficult to fit a 15 ported in a lot of trunks. it might be possible, but i've had to build boxes literally in the trunk before with ported systems. even if the box would fit in the trunk, the trunk opening wouldn't allow the box to slide in.

n2audio
06-26-2010, 01:53 AM
it will be difficult to fit a 15 ported in a lot of trunks. it might be possible, but i've had to build boxes literally in the trunk before with ported systems. even if the box would fit in the trunk, the trunk opening wouldn't allow the box to slide in.

Yeah, that's what I'm concerned about.
As long as I can stick with a basic design I don't think it would be too big of a deal to get the box built w/o glue and do the final assembly in the trunk. I would think the biggest problem will be carpeting.

Carnivorous18
06-26-2010, 03:26 AM
Yeah, that's what I'm concerned about.
As long as I can stick with a basic design I don't think it would be too big of a deal to get the box built w/o glue and do the final assembly in the trunk. I would think the biggest problem will be carpeting.

You could build it with glue and liquid nails fairly simple. Just throw a big towel under the the bottom of the trunk, then when your done gluing and such and its dried just pull out the towel from underneath. I used screws to put together mine but after reading about using glue I hear thats best. Carpeting it in the trunk will probably be a PIT *** but it all depends how much space total its gona take up in that trunk. GL bro

hatemonger
06-26-2010, 12:47 PM
You could build it with glue and liquid nails fairly simple. Just throw a big towel under the the bottom of the trunk, then when your done gluing and such and its dried just pull out the towel from underneath. I used screws to put together mine but after reading about using glue I hear thats best. Carpeting it in the trunk will probably be a PIT *** but it all depends how much space total its gona take up in that trunk. GL bro

are you using a box that is screwed together only, without glue? i would take the screws out, glue it, then reinsert the screws. today

Carnivorous18
06-27-2010, 08:45 PM
are you using a box that is screwed together only, without glue? i would take the screws out, glue it, then reinsert the screws. today

Well about 2 days ago I took the top off and put some more liquid nails along the edges and sealed up any leaks. Now the sub sounds so much deeper and more precise. Im not gona do any more work on this box cause ill be switching it out with a 15 and building a new box sooner than later. This next box though if im the one building it im definitely gona put it together with glue first. I need to get some clamps so itll dry together strong

iamamp3pimp
06-28-2010, 12:44 AM
it should, but i doubt that it will fit between the strut tower.

what about 32 x 16.5 x 24

n2audio
06-28-2010, 01:16 PM
it should, but i doubt that it will fit between the strut tower.

what about 32 x 16.5 x 24

Something like that could definitely work. I don't need the 24" depth though.
External dims of 32 x 16.5 x 20 would still give me 4.89 gross.
Port at 2.25x15 at a length of 25.6 plus sub displ of .13 gives me an fB of 27, relatively flat FR to 30 and the f3 at about 27.

The plan is to dry fit the box (no glue), and I think I will just spray it with a textured paint. That way it will be easy to disassemble, then reassemble with glue in the trunk if needed.

Carnivorous18
06-29-2010, 02:38 AM
Something like that could definitely work. I don't need the 24" depth though.
External dims of 32 x 16.5 x 20 would still give me 4.89 gross.
Port at 2.25x15 at a length of 25.6 plus sub displ of .13 gives me an fB of 27, relatively flat FR to 30 and the f3 at about 27.

The plan is to dry fit the box (no glue), and I think I will just spray it with a textured paint. That way it will be easy to disassemble, then reassemble with glue in the trunk if needed.
You gona put insulation along the inside edges? Might be leaky without it

99grandprixGT
06-29-2010, 02:42 AM
i want to say 35 wide is as wide u can go to push it all way back. ill measure my box tommorow for ya.

iamamp3pimp
06-29-2010, 06:39 PM
Invest in a pocket hole jig from home depot for ~30 bucks. then proceed.

Carnivorous18
06-29-2010, 09:34 PM
Invest in a pocket hole jig from home depot for ~30 bucks. then proceed.

I looked this up. I like this idea. If I build my next box then ill be getting it to put mine together. Even if your not building it inside your trunk I think this is a good idea to make sure the screws go in straight and securely

n2audio
07-08-2010, 12:12 PM
I ended up stopping by a local jy to find a gp and measure the trunk.
I went with 36L, and 17ish x 16ish W/D. It's basically assembled, just have to even out some edges for paint. I'm going to get it painted, take it back apart, then probably glue about half of it. I'd much rather have to build it in 3 or 4 pcs in the trunk than 8.
HOPEFULLY it all "comes together".

FWIW - My nephew's 15. When I was that age I had an audiovox tape player, a couple pioneer 4's and some audiovox 6.5's all off the (2 ch) HU in my rusted out '79 Datsun pu.
He has an '01 GP, with an AP10001D and a Diamond D615d2.

Diamond D615d2 (http://www.woofersetc.com/p2705/D615D2--Diamond-Audio-D6-1500-watt-15%22-Dual-2-Ohm-Voice-Coil-Subwoofer.htm)
Audiopipe AP10001D 1000W Monoblock Power Amplifier (http://www.caraudiodeals.com/audiopipe-ap10001d-p-3465.html)

Not a bad starting point I'd say...The little bastard.

aussiek2000
07-08-2010, 02:31 PM
If you want, I can go measure my 04 monte for you. The dimension should be pretty close. My 98 monte was 45x39x18(16 to the torsion spring)

brandon_s0854
07-13-2010, 09:59 AM
I hope you didn't build that box 36"W. I have an '01 GP GT and built my first box 36" wide and it was about 1/2 in. too wide to fit. 35 inches is widest you can go. If your nephew has the bose stereo, you only have 15.5" of height. If he doesn't, you can go 17.25" without hitting the magnets of the 6x9's on the decklid. Hope this helps.

on1wheel01
07-13-2010, 11:33 AM
This thread is full of fail talking about liquid nails and such......... Tite bond 2 or bust. Most of the boxes I build have no screws they are bonded with glue and clamps.

iamamp3pimp
07-13-2010, 01:59 PM
I looked this up. I like this idea. If I build my next box then ill be getting it to put mine together. Even if your not building it inside your trunk I think this is a good idea to make sure the screws go in straight and securely

nah, thats what Pilot holes are for.

Carnivorous18
07-14-2010, 04:13 AM
nah, thats what Pilot holes are for.

Yea I still put pilot holes in mine. Without them the wood would surely split, and even with them it still split a little on a few. Who am I kidding im probably not gona even build my next box myself just because I know I want a kerfed port and theres no way in hell I can do that myself

n2audio
07-29-2010, 02:04 PM
If anyone followed this...

The box fit. I did have to disassemble it partially, but it only took an hour or so to get it rebuilt. 36L x ~ 17 x ~16 was a snug fit, but it works. He still has room for a couple bags and small cargo items.

This was my first personal experience with an AP amp and I am thoroughly impressed with its initial performance. This thing is small and powerful. It is rocking that D6.
He had a pair of old 12w3's getting 300w rms each. The single 15" D6 is better in all phases, but it's getting quite a bit more power -- 1000w (rated) from the AP1000d (sub is rated for 750).
It stays loud in the high 20's.
Unfortunately I can't get him to leave the bass boost alone. Appearantly clipping is a pleasant sound to a 15 y/o. I hope he doesn't damage that sub. I can't find anymore at that price.

Sadly, it blows my poor opti1232d out of the water in SPL and its ability to play loud low. So naturally I'm thinking I may need a 15 now :)

S.P.L.
07-30-2010, 08:34 PM
Good luck getting a 15" box in that trunk, especial one with 3.0 cu. ft. I'd just go with a pre-fab that has the transmission line vent and some poly fill for added air space. Atrend makes a single vented enclosure for Diamond subs. Specs are:

DIAMOND AUDIO SPECIFIC ENCLOSURES W H D Cu. Ft.
15TDXS Atrend - 15" Single Vented Diamond 22.50 17.50 22.00 2.20

15 TDXS Single Diamond Vented Enclosure (http://74.53.76.202/~atrendus/atrend-sub-diamond.html)

You can probably get pretty close to 3.0 cu. ft. with some poly fill. Good luck.

whitedragon551
07-30-2010, 08:41 PM
Good luck getting a 15" box in that trunk, especial one with 3.0 cu. ft. I'd just go with a pre-fab that has the transmission line vent and some poly fill for added air space. Atrend makes a single vented enclosure for Diamond subs. Specs are:

DIAMOND AUDIO SPECIFIC ENCLOSURES W H D Cu. Ft.
15TDXS Atrend - 15" Single Vented Diamond 22.50 17.50 22.00 2.20

15 TDXS Single Diamond Vented Enclosure (http://74.53.76.202/~atrendus/atrend-sub-diamond.html)

You can probably get pretty close to 3.0 cu. ft. with some poly fill. Good luck.

He already got it in. If I would have saw this I would have offered some specs.

I had my DC Audio Level 4 15" D2 in 4.5 net cubes tuned at 32Hz and it slid in the trunk just fine no building in the trunk or removing back seats.

Phoenix Risen
07-31-2010, 03:36 AM
any pics of finished product?

marcotheclepto
07-31-2010, 01:59 PM
any pics of finished product?

x2 always love build pics/ finished product :)

n2audio
08-04-2010, 05:54 PM
DIAMOND AUDIO SPECIFIC ENCLOSURES -------------- W ------------ H --------- D --------Cu. Ft.
15TDXS ---- Atrend - 15" Single Vented Diamond --- 22.50 -------- 17.50 --- 22.00 ------- 2.20

You can probably get pretty close to 3.0 cu. ft. with some poly fill. Good luck.

I had factory rec's for the d6 - it was 2.25 tuned to 37. I chose to model it myself and come up with my own design. It will be flatter and go lower in the larger, lower tuned box with minimal loss in ~50hz spl. It's right about 4.5 gross, probably about 3.75 net.

Dragon, out of curiousity, do you have rough dims?

I will try to get some pix next time I cross paths with it.

whitedragon551
08-04-2010, 05:57 PM
Outer dimensions are 16 3/4" x 33 1/4" x 16 1/4" (LxWxH)

SpeedEuphoria
08-05-2010, 01:02 AM
He had a pair of old 12w3's getting 300w rms each. The single 15" D6 is better in all phases, but it's getting quite a bit more power -- 1000w (rated) from the AP1000d (sub is rated for 750).

Sadly, it blows my poor opti1232d out of the water in SPL and its ability to play loud low. So naturally I'm thinking I may need a 15 now :)

Have been impressed with my D6 15 also coming from a pair of JL12w3's. Mines only getting ~800w at the moment, but that 3"vc should handle more not sure how crazy I want to get on mine with the dsc1500D