PDA

View Full Version : A little lost -- need some advice for Sol upgrade.

Alecia_solsonfi
06-22-2010, 11:41 PM
Hi Everyone!

I am kind of new to all of this but I really want to upgrade the system in my solstice and I need some suggestions/advice.

I have already ordered these Alpine SPR-17S (http://www.pacificstereo.com/brands/alpine/alpine-car-audio/alpine-car-speakers/alpine-spr-17s.html) to go in the doors and the tweeter spots.

The car has the monsoon system...but I am not sure if I need to upgrade the amp as well to power these correctly. If so I was thinking along the lines of the pdx-f4 or the cerwin vega s440 was recommended to me by the guy @ pacific stereo. I know about alpine and I know this amp will fit the little space that I have but I know absolutely nothing about cerwin vegas. The problem is that, it is a convertible and there are limited...very limited mounting options.

I don't plan on changing the head unit just yet because I am unsure of exactly what I want in a head unit. I plan up upgrading the sub to a shallow mount that will fit the factory box.

Also I would like to know if $200 just for installation of the amp is a reasonable cost, I know it is a 4 channel amp but it just seems high. I appreciate any and all constructive contributions.

Thanks in advance!

goingdef
06-22-2010, 11:51 PM
Ya 200.00 for an amp install is really high look around there has to be cheaper in your area!

Alecia_solsonfi
06-23-2010, 11:33 PM
thanks goingdef

gladiator_jai
06-23-2010, 11:41 PM
Yup it's high, I got my wiring done for $70.

Spider Monkey
06-24-2010, 05:46 PM