PDA

View Full Version : How to test if your box will fit?



Carnivorous18
06-22-2010, 10:01 PM
So I originally built a box for my 18" that, according to my measurements, thought would fit into my trunk by going in from the cabin into the trunk from the backseats. Unfortunately for me it was just barely too tall enough and wide enough to clear through into it:verymad:.

So now im looking to build a box eventually for a 15" that will be able to slide in and out of the trunk from the trunk. I have an estimated max space of 15" tall, 30" wide, and 28" deep. Is there a way I could build a test box out of some firm materials to see if it will slide in and out like I want? I don't necessarily mean wood because I want this to be cheap, but it has to be sturdy and keep its form while im putting it in; it cant be bending like cardboard. Any of you guys done this sort of thing before?

geonfreaq
06-22-2010, 10:05 PM
Cardboard. Dont see why it wouldnt work bro...

MONSONwarrior
06-22-2010, 10:07 PM
Styrofoam.

Carnivorous18
06-22-2010, 10:23 PM
I tried cardboard. Its way too flimsy I couldnt get it to keep its shape. Maybe if it was thicker so it wasnt so flimsy. Styrofoam aint a bad idea I wonder where I can buy sheets of it or something

fasfocus00
06-22-2010, 10:33 PM
i was thinking using a tape measure?

Bumpin' Goalie
06-22-2010, 10:36 PM
Foam board. Like what people use to make presentations at the office/school/etc.

geonfreaq
06-22-2010, 10:36 PM
i was thinking using a tape measure?

No way in hell would that work bro...



j/k

k_schutte
06-22-2010, 10:39 PM
build it and see if it fits... LOL

I get a good laugh when people build a giant box because they have a TON of trunk room but then have a tiny trunk opening so it don't fit. Personally, I usually shove my boxes through the rear seat hole when possible. Makes it a lot easier IMO...

Carnivorous18
06-22-2010, 11:14 PM
i was thinking using a tape measure?
Yes i did that but id much rather rest easy knowing it would fit. I'll be getting the box built for me so I dont want to give em my max dimensions then when it comes, come to find out it dont fit. Like I said I already had that happen this past time I built it so I just wana double check.



Foam board. Like what people use to make presentations at the office/school/etc.

Foam board. hmm ill look into that too


build it and see if it fits... LOL

I get a good laugh when people build a giant box because they have a TON of trunk room but then have a tiny trunk opening so it don't fit. Personally, I usually shove my boxes through the rear seat hole when possible. Makes it a lot easier IMO...

See and I thought that would make it a lot easier too when I tried to shove mine through the rear seat hole but low and behold it was too big.


Thanks for the responses ill look into the foam board and styrofoam but lemme know if you guys can think of anything else

csu87
06-22-2010, 11:40 PM
crazy thing called tape measure and calculator

Carnivorous18
06-22-2010, 11:46 PM
crazy thing called tape measure and calculator

I know I get it but I have to make sure it will slide in and out ok. Also a testbox will tell me if theres any unnoticed kinks that keep it from sliding in. I tried to measure the lowest spots that come down in the trunk which seemed like the rear speakers but obviously there was more to it. Test box seems like a fixall

k_schutte
06-22-2010, 11:56 PM
tape measure and calculator does not account for changes when you CLOSE the trunk lid either... LOL

Buddy of mine built a nice box, just BARELY made it in the trunk opening. got it bolted down, sub put it, amp mounted to the back of it etc... went to close the trunk and the trunk lid arm deals hit the box with about 12" left to close the trunk lid...

Carnivorous18
06-23-2010, 12:09 AM
tape measure and calculator does not account for changes when you CLOSE the trunk lid either... LOL

Buddy of mine built a nice box, just BARELY made it in the trunk opening. got it bolted down, sub put it, amp mounted to the back of it etc... went to close the trunk and the trunk lid arm deals hit the box with about 12" left to close the trunk lid...

Lmfao THISS is what I want to avoid. Plus I want futureproof I wana get a Type-S and those trunks are pretty big plus its a hatchback so itll open wide for lots of easy access. Unfortunate for me I have the smaller trunk of the two right now so im restricted by the opening -.-

dustyshot
07-01-2010, 05:23 PM
I know I get it but I have to make sure it will slide in and out ok. Also a testbox will tell me if theres any unnoticed kinks that keep it from sliding in. I tried to measure the lowest spots that come down in the trunk which seemed like the rear speakers but obviously there was more to it. Test box seems like a fixall

Crazy thing is if you measure it right, it would not be a problem. Ignoring that you made a mistake and go a different route might make it harder for yourself. If you already know what you did wrong with measurement why not try again right this time? It only takes slightly less measurements to make it fit. :crazy:

dustyshot
07-01-2010, 05:23 PM
I know I get it but I have to make sure it will slide in and out ok. Also a testbox will tell me if theres any unnoticed kinks that keep it from sliding in. I tried to measure the lowest spots that come down in the trunk which seemed like the rear speakers but obviously there was more to it. Test box seems like a fixall

Crazy thing is if you measure it right, it would not be a problem. Ignoring that you made a mistake and go a different route might make it harder for yourself. If you already know what you did wrong with measurement why not try again right this time? It only takes slightly less measurements to make it fit. :crazy:

**** double posted on me for no reason. I hit it once.

rosshimself13
07-01-2010, 06:32 PM
at first i was going to say uhh tape measure, however since you fail at measuring go to lowes home depot or wherever they have sheets of stryrofoam insulation its not free like card board, but it may be what you need

bhsdriller
07-01-2010, 06:35 PM
If you have a small trunk openening, build the box inside the trunk

Carnivorous18
07-02-2010, 03:57 AM
If you have a small trunk openening, build the box inside the trunk

I would. But this is something I want to be able to remove incase I get another car or I need to access the spare tire or whatever. I already got the foam board from Michaels (cheapest place by far unless you get it 1/2" thick). Working out really well. I know now definitely I cant fit a box with 15.5" height, so ill be testing 15" after I finish cutting it down