PDA

View Full Version : Deciding on Head Unit



incrediboy729
06-17-2010, 01:29 PM
Hello. I have a 1999 Ford f150, and i'm looking to get a headunit with full Ipod control (Fm transmitters = fail) through usb for around $150. Here are some I found:

Really Dig this one, but it's pricey....
Kenwood KDC-MP445U CD receiver at Crutchfield.com (http://www.crutchfield.com/p_113MP445U/Kenwood-KDC-MP445U.html?tp=5684)


Really really like this one. Comes with installation gear and everything, has an Ipod compatible USB (not all are), free shipping, like the looks, and not absurdly expensive....
Pioneer DEH-3200UB CD receiver at Crutchfield.com (http://www.crutchfield.com/p_1303200UB/Pioneer-DEH-3200UB.html?tp=5684)

If I was to get a Sony, this would be the only one i would get, because anything cheaper can't support an ipod and anything more expensive is the same price as the Kenwood.
Sony CDX-GT540UI CD receiver at Crutchfield.com (http://www.crutchfield.com/p_158GT540UI/Sony-CDX-GT540UI.html?tp=5684)

After much searching, these were really the only ones i liked, but i'm open to suggestions. Are all these still good brands nowdays? Questions? Comments? Anything is welcome.
Thank you for your time.
-Brett

SPLmatic
06-17-2010, 04:01 PM
Pioneer all day! I have the DEH-6800MP and I've always loved it. They're good HU's.

http://www.testfreaks.com/car-audio-video-stereos/pioneer-deh-3200ub/user-reviews/

whitedragon551
06-17-2010, 04:12 PM
HU and free install stuff. HU has 5v preouts.

JVC KD-A615 (kda615) - Car Stereo In-Dash Receiver at Sonic Electronix - Sonic Electronix (http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_21993_JVC+Arsenal+KD-A615.html)

incrediboy729
06-17-2010, 07:04 PM
Thank you both for the tips.
White dragon, is JVC better than Pioneer and Kenwood these days?

whitedragon551
06-17-2010, 07:06 PM
Pioneer has the PICO fuse issue, but regardless of what people say its all installer error. If you follow the directions you wont get the issue.

Kenwood makes some good budget HU's.

The JVC in this case has the better preout voltages which is key for SQ. If your not going for SQ its all user preference.