PDA

View Full Version : So got my eclipse today....



brmcm15
06-03-2010, 01:42 AM
88120 TI - D3, well really a D4


http://i160.photobucket.com/albums/t184/brmcm15/0602002056.jpg
http://i160.photobucket.com/albums/t184/brmcm15/0602002059.jpg
http://i160.photobucket.com/albums/t184/brmcm15/0602002059a.jpg
http://i160.photobucket.com/albums/t184/brmcm15/0602002102.jpg
http://i160.photobucket.com/albums/t184/brmcm15/0602002103.jpg
http://i160.photobucket.com/albums/t184/brmcm15/0602002104.jpg
http://i160.photobucket.com/albums/t184/brmcm15/0602002104a.jpg
http://i160.photobucket.com/albums/t184/brmcm15/0602002106.jpg
http://i160.photobucket.com/albums/t184/brmcm15/0602002106a.jpg


so thinking some where around 2-2.5 cu ft. @ 32hz off of ~800w rms


what do you guys think?




Brandon

hatedonmostly
06-03-2010, 01:48 AM
nice mayne

brmcm15
06-03-2010, 01:50 AM
thanks mane. hahaha, i still can't believe you got that amp working

hatedonmostly
06-03-2010, 01:54 AM
thanks mane. hahaha, i still can't believe you got that amp working

i'm surprised it still works after all it's been through...

power/ground inputs caught on fire
you putting the power in the ground and the ground in the power and going into protect
killing all fuses

didn't know directed was such quality lol

brmcm15
06-03-2010, 02:14 AM
i'm surprised it still works after all it's been through...

power/ground inputs caught on fire
you putting the power in the ground and the ground in the power and going into protect
killing all fuses

didn't know directed was such quality lol



lol i know :facepalm:

im just glad i don't have to buy a sub amp now

but working on the box design now, any ideas?

goingdef
06-03-2010, 02:19 AM
awesome looking sub I think I would go 2.5 and 32hz sounds perfect to me it should pound and sound **** nice doing it!

jasonjs
06-03-2010, 02:21 AM
how much did you pay for it? just curious one of my friend has 2 but i think hes asking for 2 much

hatedonmostly
06-03-2010, 02:27 AM
awesome looking sub I think I would go 2.5 and 32hz sounds perfect to me it should pound and sound **** nice doing it!

that

brmcm15
06-03-2010, 02:32 AM
how much did you pay for it? just curious one of my friend has 2 but i think hes asking for 2 much

pm'd

brmcm15
06-03-2010, 02:44 AM
awesome looking sub I think I would go 2.5 and 32hz sounds perfect to me it should pound and sound **** nice doing it!

yes, i like that alot..waiting for a couple more ppl to chime in and see what they say

on1wheel01
06-03-2010, 07:15 AM
box looks beat to **** but looks to have been safe

brmcm15
06-03-2010, 11:07 AM
box looks beat to **** but looks to have been safe

yea would of been nice if he made a little crate, but its seems fine.


so 2.5cu ft @ 32hz?

Wingman0121
06-03-2010, 11:39 AM
Keep an eye on that surround because this can happen

http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j255/weister42/Home%20and%20Car%20Audio/IMG_2540.jpg


It got to the point where the tinsels leads were CUTTING the two spiders due to high excursion. I was pouring 1000 watts RMS to each though, maybe more.

Patch any cracks with liquid electrical tape as soon as you see it or it'll just get bigger and bigger.

dumple
06-03-2010, 11:42 AM
me wanty i likey those

on1wheel01
06-04-2010, 02:19 AM
holy hell at the missing surround

brmcm15
06-04-2010, 09:26 AM
whoa man, thanks for the heads up wingman

hatedonmostly
06-04-2010, 10:19 AM
Keep an eye on that surround because this can happen

http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j255/weister42/Home%20and%20Car%20Audio/IMG_2540.jpg


It got to the point where the tinsels leads were CUTTING the two spiders due to high excursion. I was pouring 1000 watts RMS to each though, maybe more.

Patch any cracks with liquid electrical tape as soon as you see it or it'll just get bigger and bigger.

Do you know how to set a SSF?

Wingman0121
06-04-2010, 01:02 PM
Do you know how to set a SSF?


An US AMPS USA-2000X powered them so nope, no subsonic filter what so ever :laugh: Basically the Titaniums got into a fight and lost.

If you look closely the crack goes all the way around the cone, there's another guy with 3 JL w7s on here that developed the same problem overtime. I guess these foam-type surround doesn't last as long as the sub itself.


Oh well, I got them reconed with different TC Sounds parts so it's even louder now.

hatedonmostly
06-04-2010, 01:04 PM
An US AMPS USA-2000X powered them so nope, no subsonic filter what so ever :laugh: Basically the Titaniums got into a fight and lost.

If you look closely the crack goes all the way around the cone, there's another guy with 3 JL w7s on here that developed the same problem overtime. I guess these foam-type surround doesn't last as long as the sub itself.


Oh well, I got them reconed with different TC Sounds parts so it's even louder now.

Well there's your issue :crap:

Wingman0121
06-05-2010, 01:19 AM
The coil on the Titaniums could of taken more power, A LOT more... it didn't smell burnt when I took it apart, the coil is still round and intact with no discoloration at all. The suspension gave out way before the coil did, it was a sad day.


So yeah, set a subsonic filter at 20Hz or higher if you're going to port it, and give it like 700 watts RMS and you should be fine.