PDA

View Full Version : Could someone double check me please?



geonfreaq
05-23-2010, 10:02 PM
Ok so Im trying to build a box for a RE SX 12".

2 cubes tuned to 33hz is what Im shooting for.

So far using the 12volt.com enclosure calculator and the room Im working with, I have come up with a box that is 14" tall, 56" wide and 7" deep. That gives me a volume of 2.168

Now I also used the port calculator and came up with a port that was 4" wide, 12.5" tall and 51.228 long.

Do all these numbers add up correctly?

If I need to add more volume to the box to get me the 2 cubes the only measurement I can change is the width of the box.

Thanks in advance,
~Jason

subzero
05-24-2010, 04:56 AM
RE Enclosure Calculator (http://www.reaudio.com/speaker_box/LPort_Box_Calc.html)

Subwoofer Enclosure Calculators, Fraction to Decimal, Parallel, Series, Port Length and Volume Calculators (http://www.the12volt.com/caraudio/boxcalcs.asp#por)

geonfreaq
05-24-2010, 09:50 AM
Thanks for posting links I've already stated I've used.

profundus-sanus
05-24-2010, 10:20 AM
your waaaayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy off

those specs give you .133 cubes tuned to 130hz, after all displacements.

i assume your going behind the seat of a truck or something..

there is no way to get an adqaute ported box for that woofer in the enclosure size you put in the first post.

geonfreaq
05-24-2010, 10:31 AM
****it :(

It just semed too easy haha.

Yea its going into a truck. Its a 2007 dodge ram 2500 mega cab so I have more room than a normal pickup however I guess I dont have enough.

geonfreaq
05-24-2010, 10:48 AM
What about 60"w x 15"h x 7"d.

Port would be 13.5'h x 2"w and 27" long.

http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f196/jasonsrussell/Untitled2.png

profundus-sanus
05-24-2010, 10:49 AM
actually, you could put a 4" aeroport in there firing to the side.. basically just build the box as big as you can put the sub fairly close to the opposite side of the port.

geonfreaq
05-24-2010, 10:54 AM
Sounds like trouble to me. Ive never built any other box except slot ports. I did mess with a round port calc on the 12volt also though. Could I just use a PVC pipe as the port?


Of course this was working off the first set of measurements I posted.

http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f196/jasonsrussell/Untitled-3.png

geonfreaq
05-24-2010, 10:56 AM
According to RE, the woofer can be used in 2cf @ 33Hz (optimal) or 1.5 @ 35Hz (compact install)