PDA

View Full Version : Box build for my Lms Ultra 18"



power-fanatic07
05-15-2010, 09:36 AM
Box I built for my lms 18, all equipment will be in the trunk. Sub up, ported to passenger side. 4.8 cuft w/ a pair of 6" aeros tuned to 36 hz. Bulk pack of damp pro covering the entire trunk area coming soon, should be here today or monday.


The Sub

http://i641.photobucket.com/albums/uu131/ericsphotoid1/166c8950.jpg

The Box

http://i641.photobucket.com/albums/uu131/ericsphotoid1/389648a8.jpg
http://i641.photobucket.com/albums/uu131/ericsphotoid1/4650fad9.jpg
http://i641.photobucket.com/albums/uu131/ericsphotoid1/f0dcc7d4.jpg
http://i641.photobucket.com/albums/uu131/ericsphotoid1/7660e217.jpg
http://i641.photobucket.com/albums/uu131/ericsphotoid1/ebcdea39.jpg
http://i641.photobucket.com/albums/uu131/ericsphotoid1/0fc238bf.jpg
http://i641.photobucket.com/albums/uu131/ericsphotoid1/f7f38def.jpg

The Amp

http://i641.photobucket.com/albums/uu131/ericsphotoid1/e5d9ef82.jpg

Short Vid on a Sundown 1200d


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MfV-Iq5EAeY

Taking the box out today to start the amp/batt rack that will be going behind the box, check back for more pics/vids :sneaky:

*SlappinAzz*
05-15-2010, 09:41 AM
looks loud

power-fanatic07
05-15-2010, 12:37 PM
Yeah, should be even louder with 4kw. ******* rain ***** :fyi:

GetLikeMe
05-15-2010, 12:39 PM
Why you tune it so high :( lol nice tho man! Im building my box for pair of 12 5400s today

power-fanatic07
05-15-2010, 12:47 PM
Yea it ***** but I can only fit about 5.5 cubes in my trunk, using the 2 aero's I would have to have like 24" long port, if I only used 1 wouldn't be enough port area. It sounds good It just doesn't hit the low lows. I may design a new box after this one with a slot kerf port.

GetLikeMe
05-15-2010, 12:49 PM
Ya if u plan to run 4k to it you can make the box smaller. Im running my 12's in 2.2cu net each. @ 32hz :) Nice **** tho. Pictures dont do justice to how beefy those motors are.

ciaonzo
05-15-2010, 12:52 PM
Big mutha humpa. High tune 36Hz is to cry. You cheat self out of whole octave.

You guys and your crazy 4" coils.



:wave:

GetLikeMe
05-15-2010, 12:55 PM
shutup cianzo lol look at ur avatar!! ;)

ciaonzo
05-15-2010, 01:03 PM
lol

Only 3 inchers in that pic but she says that's a good size. :naughty:

I do actually have some 4" coils - my Dyanudio 30W100 and my Aura 1808. I've also got a 15" top for the Aura motor. SQ stuff though, you know me.

GetLikeMe
05-15-2010, 01:05 PM
Ya you alwyas got some good ****!

power-fanatic07
05-15-2010, 01:05 PM
Big mutha humpa. High tune 36Hz is to cry. You cheat self out of whole octave.

You guys and your crazy 4" coils.



:wave:


lolz, you're nuts. I bet you have shelves full of baskets and motors. How does this look.

http://i641.photobucket.com/albums/uu131/ericsphotoid1/newbox.jpg

GetLikeMe
05-15-2010, 01:08 PM
30hz ftw :D

mazdakid
05-15-2010, 01:17 PM
you need to subtract probably about .25 for sub displacement

ciaonzo
05-15-2010, 01:18 PM
Ya you alwyas got some good ****!But I don't have any sweet custom 5400 12's!

Or an ULTRA, for that matter.

lolz, you're nuts. I bet you have shelves full of baskets and motors. How does this look.lol No, that's Chris. I certainly have more than I need, but I'm slowly working on downsizing. I need the closet space back. It's hard to part with them for some reason.

I'm sure that would sound just fine, hard to tell without an actual model of it. That doesn't tell me anything about FR or mechanical/thermal performance. Myself, if I owned that driver and I were to use it in a vehicle, I would go large sealed. Especially if I had 4K at my disposal. We all like different things though.

SubNit
05-15-2010, 01:38 PM
Tune lower

In for some new vids though when you fix your box issue, your going to have a NICE setup! I hope the rest of your equipment is as good

power-fanatic07
05-15-2010, 01:39 PM
you need to subtract probably about .25 for sub displacement
ahh yeah forgot that lol, changed tuning to 30.8

But I don't have any sweet custom 5400 12's!

Or an ULTRA, for that matter.
lol No, that's Chris. I certainly have more than I need, but I'm slowly working on downsizing. I need the closet space back. It's hard to part with them for some reason.

I'm sure that would sound just fine, hard to tell without an actual model of it. That doesn't tell me anything about FR or mechanical/thermal performance. Myself, if I owned that driver and I were to use it in a vehicle, I would go large sealed. Especially if I had 4K at my disposal. We all like different things though.

What would be the advantages of using it in large sealed vs ported and tuned low ?

Go2Sleep
05-15-2010, 02:26 PM
I know ciaonzo will break it down but in simple terms
with sufficient power Large sealed = increase in cone control, excursion, frequency range (bandwidth) and power handling

if i'm not mistaken

p.s. @OP what program are you using there???

mazdakid
05-15-2010, 03:08 PM
Thats exposports box calculator